Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Wall

I am making progress in getting ready for my first art show. All of my prints are framed now:

Now I am going to see how many new pieces I can do in time for the show. My old stuff already looks boring to me. But I guess it will be new to most everyone else.

Back to my sketchbook now…

~Shelley

P.S. I can’t wait to show my coffee buddies here my new coffee cup art!

November 19, 2008 - Posted by | Art, drawing, painting | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Fantastic Shelley.
    What a great feeling it must be to have this done before Christmas and going into 2009 with this behind you with successful results I am confident you will get!
    I am very glad for you and wish you well.

    Kindest/ michael

    Comment by Michael | November 19, 2008

  2. Thank you, Michael! It does feel good to be doing this, but I am still very nervous.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 19, 2008

  3. This looks like a LOT of artwork!! It will be fun to see how it all comes together on your show day.

    Good Luck!!!

    Comment by Bonny | November 19, 2008

  4. Thank you, Bonny! I’ll have to take pics at the show. I’m glad the gallery will be hanging everything and not me.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 20, 2008

  5. So happy to see that, Shelley! It looks great!
    I am often thinking of you, in which state of mind you might be because of the show. I think we are all nervous when it comes to such an event in our lives. And don’t worry about your paintings looking boring to you. I always have the same feeling with my paintings, even if i painted them only yesterday. As you say, the show visitors have never seen them.
    I hope you will take some photos and tell us then. We are all with you there… the 23rd, if I remember well? This weekend?

    Comment by Miki | November 20, 2008

  6. Thank you, Miki! I often think of you, and all of the shows you must have done. Does it ever get easier? I am a nervous wreck, wondering why I thought this was such a good idea to begin with.

    The show is the 29th. I have to get everything to the gallery in the next couple of days so they have time to set up. Then I will try to focus on promoting the event…and figuring out what to wear 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 20, 2008

  7. Oh God, Shelley, I so wished we were there to support you personally! Try not to worry too much, you will see, your paintings will look great in the gallery. You will feel very proud of you. And after the show anyway. I think this is one of the most important things, TO DO IT.
    Now you might think “Never again!”, this is at least why i think every time. short before the show. But after I can’t wait to start again. It is simply so exciting, so challenging, I think we need that. And we need to go public with our art to really feel like an artist..
    Don’t start too late to promote the event… at least try to start BEFORE the show 🙂
    What to wear? This is for me the most stressing part of the whole thing! I simply hate it! I have nothing to wear, and when I say nothing, it is really almost nothing. Kevin is just the contrary, he has thousands of great things to wear and he enjoys this part of my shows the most!

    Comment by Miki | November 20, 2008

  8. Wow – Shelley! its looking good! Miki’s right, by the way, I’m just a clothes horse at her openings! 🙂
    We’re all pulling for you -good luck!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 20, 2008

  9. The Great Wall of Shelley Wonder.

    I particularly like the orange face.

    Comment by sittingpugs | November 27, 2008

  10. Thank you all for your encouragement! I feel a little calmer now. Maybe it’s the smell of turkey in the oven, but more likely it’s because all of the art is hanging at the gallery now. The “orange face” has become the centerpiece–seems to be the attention-grabber. I finished a new poem and 11 original drawings to put in a folding screen for the show. I think I’ve even picked out my clothes for the event! There’s not much left to do until Saturday, except eat 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 27, 2008


Leave a Reply

