Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Reminiscence

Chinese Daydream

Chinese Daydream

As I stood at the kitchen sink the other day ( I know, I know) I happened to glance out of the window at the children’s play area across the street. it was deserted, save for a solitary figure, gently rocking on one of the children’s apparatus.

Upon closer inspection, I discovered it was an old Chinese man, the elder of the family that runs the nearby restaurant. I have seen him occasionally, padding up and down the streets. He always seems to look a little lost, an air of melancholy hanging over him like a cloud.

My first thought when I saw him marooned in this playground was one of unbearable sadness. But I’ve tried to revisit it, and look on the scene more optimistically. Perhaps the simple explanation is that he was quietly re-living a youth long past, reinvigorating a memory that had become lost in time. In any case, when I look once more at this picture, I prefer not to  conjure the word “loss”.

I prefer “Serenity”.

Kev Moore

November 13, 2008 - Posted by | culture, life, personal, random, writing | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Nice post, kev. I think he was meditating… and it`s nice to balance yourself like that…My father did built some sort of apparatus like this for my mother, in the garden…

    Comment by ivdanu | November 13, 2008

  2. If you didn’t use any words – it sure seems sad to me. Maybe because I can see myself as that old man.

    Comment by wrjones | November 14, 2008

  3. I am that old man!

    Comment by Mike on the road | November 14, 2008

  4. Guys, lets just imagine we’re a gang of teenagers!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 14, 2008


Leave a Reply

