Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Message from the Country

High on a hill there's a lonely goatherd.....

High on a hill there's a lonely goatherd....

Sometimes I forget that I used to live in a built-up suburb in a dreary northern English town. So much so, that I take for granted where we live, and the wide open spaces just beyond our doors.

But, every now and again, an alarm bell rings in the shape of the little tinkly ones around the necks of the goats that come grazing across the river bed. One look out of the window, and I realise just how lucky we are to live in such a wonderful place.

How the goats don’t tumble into the arroyo is something I still don’t understand. Have they got Velcro hooves?

'Ere Eric, watch your step, you'll end up as Paté.....‘Ere Eric, watch your step, you’ll end up as Paté….

Kev Moore

November 12, 2008 - Posted by | Art, life, nature, photo, random, writing | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I remember when we moved to the country from a suburb (it wasn’t that dreary, but still) and I became aware at one point that I seemed to have relaxed in a way that surprised me – almost at the cellular level. We don’t recognize the stress we carry with us caused by our surroundings until we change those surroundings. I guess that’s why we take vacations.

    It’s a wonder more people don’t move to rural areas – of course, the trend worldwide is just the opposite. We’re part of the fortunate few…

    Comment by Bob Cornelis | November 12, 2008

  2. I know exactly what you mean Bob – the stress almost seems to flow out of you imperceptibly, and all at once, somewhere down the line you realise how much healthier you feel!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 12, 2008

  3. I appreciate living in the mountains north of Montreal where there is cotton wood and pine trees and wildlife and streams and lakes and four seasons; dramatic ones.
    The city boy in me has heart palpitations when I go to Montreal; which is not often.
    And its less expensive to live here than in the city as well. Yes my family is lucky.

    Comment by Mike on the road | November 14, 2008

  4. What a relaxing looking landscape. You are lucky. I’m having Ramona the cow framed then will send her to live with Paco for a while. She may want a little “alone” time with him.

    Comment by wrjones | November 20, 2008

  5. That’s right Bill -its a relaxing landscape. I must remember to tell Miki this is why I can’t get off the sofa in the evening. It’s from staring at goats all day.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 20, 2008


Leave a Reply

