Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Decent proposal

Since I’m not Robert Redford (I wish!) and you are not Demi Moore (a cousin of yours, Kev?) I cannot make you an Indecent Proposal

So I make you (as an atonement for my long absence from CC) a relatively DECENT one: let’s share… I mean, coffee information. Personally, I feel I still have SO MUCH to learn about it: what`s the best sort? How to keep it so that it doesn’t loose the aroma, the perfume??  can you “cook” it yourself? How? and all the other thousands tricks to better enjoy coffee, even in a modest cup? I hope you’ll like – and accept – my proposal…

(I post with it one of my recent “non-figurative” paintings (I don`t know what else I can do with it! ha,ha! and I also invite you to visit my new blog solely dedicated to Portraits – it`s in French but the important things are the images, not the text… the address is: http://idanu.wordpress.com/)

pasarea-maiastra-2-b

November 4, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, Danu's Paintings, friends, humor, life | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Well Danu, I will tell you the truth:
    Demi is Kevin’s ex, he left her for me, and I left Robert Redford for Kevin. And we both made a great decent deal!!!!

    I love this painting a lot, it’s wild, crazy, funny… in fact I think it is a self portrait, didn’t you notice?
    I recommend everybody here to visit Danu’s Portraits blog, great stuff! But I don’t agree that the texts are not important, it’s wonderful stuff too.

    To share coffee info is a great idea. Madame Monet did it sometimes with her Moroccan recipes, I always loved it.
    Unfortunately I am myself totally ignorant in this matter. I spent some months in one of the biggest coffee countries, Brazil, as my parents lived there, but I still preferred to drink my Nescafé there! Which made people say that I don’t really like coffee, and i guess it is true. But what i certainly love are coffee cups! Have got one new from Kevin, I will paint it soon!

    Comment by Miki | November 4, 2008

  2. I’ve heard about les échangistes mais je ne savait pas que c’était vous!

    I wait to see your new coffe cup! (But don`t say – at least not too often – that you don`t like coffee ! Seems that you too had a lot to discover and rediscover, yet!)

    Yes, maybe it`s a self portrait but not more than all your wonderful paintings are, too, self portraits… Thanks, miki!

    Comment by ivdanu | November 4, 2008

  3. Great idea Danu, lets have another discussion on Coffee culture, which seems to be ever-burgeoning. I think i’ll write a short essay about how its developed in the UK over the decades and post it here!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 4, 2008

  4. Your painting is fascinating, Danu! So many fun little details for the eye to pick out. Even your scarecrow hiding in there!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 4, 2008

  5. Being in a cafe everyday writing and changing cafes I would consider myself an expert on what coffee I like. It is the coffee you get at the cafe. Period!
    I have even bought the coffee they make in the cafes and tried to make a cup at home and never have I been able to replicate what the cafes do everyday.
    So as an expert on cafe coffee I would say the best is the cafe coffee. Forget the home made kind. Never works for me and what a waste of dollars.
    Nice topic bro/ m

    Comment by Mike on the road | November 4, 2008

  6. I’d like to add to Michael’s comment that the ‘ritual’ that comes with the coffee in a cafe kind of adds to the whole experience. I love to sit out here on the playa in my favourite cafe, order a cafe con leche, and await the cup, served with a side of two complimetary donuts and a small galss of water to cleanse the pallette. lovely!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 5, 2008

  7. Kev: I hardly can wait for your essay, kev! Today I’ve found (and bought) a Touring Guide to Britain, superbly illustrated and I remeber with pleasure my 2 travels (short, unfoirtunatelly) to UK!

    Shelley: well, thanks, shelley and good luck with you show ! I didn’t know you live in Georgia! a Southern Lady! (James Brown voice sounds in my head: “Geeooorgiiia”!)

    Michael: I’m afraid I don’t agree with your opinion, Michael! (How’s your cooking? I almost bet you don”t cook much…usually those who do not brew their coffee at home do not cook either…) I make very good coffee and improving all the time! That’s why the KIND of coffee and the quantity and the way you prepare it is so important (and me, so curious to know how others do that…) Nothing against cafe coffee… I also like the atmosphere, drinking coffee and sketching people drinking coffee…

    Comment by iondanu | November 5, 2008

  8. Your free to disagree Danu. At least you are polite about it.

    Comment by Mike on the road | November 6, 2008

  9. Danu – you know your films and coffee….but…it was the late great Ray Charles who sang Georgia! 🙂

    I also can’t claim to really “brew” my coffee “a maison” either – just a spoonful of granules and add water, haha! – but I’m guessing we’d all love to be sat together around a table chatting whilst being served with the house blend in any of the cafes in our respective countries. It still remains a dream that one day we’ll all do it.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 6, 2008

  10. Danu–Although I would love to have either James Brown or Ray Charles singing about me, a Southern Lady I will never be. I have too much Chicago in my blood. But it is nice to have this virtual cafe where even middle Americans are welcome.

    Have you ever tried roasting your own coffee beans? I had a friend who’s husband did that. It was very smelly. I never had a chance to try his coffee. I remember seeing a newsletter at his house, for coffee afficionados, very beautifully illustrated. It completely renewed my love for coffee art.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 7, 2008


Leave a Reply

