Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Hold me close, keep me warm

It is the time of year here to pull out the warm clothes, and/or find someone cozy to snuggle up with. And it is the time I am most busy with my children. But I am working on a new “purple” series, in hopes of getting into a show next month. For the background of this, I rubbed some coffee into a piece of parchment paper. For the purple, I scanned in my favorite purple shirt from the 1980’s. I have been parting with a lot of old clutter lately, in an attempt to get the house looking more civilized, but I will NEVER part with my purple shirt!

Have a beautiful day, everyone!

~Shelley

October 30, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, family, friends, life, painting, Shelley's Creations | , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Beautiful Shelley! One can find inspiration anywhere don’t you think? [the purple sweater]
    Kindest,
    Michael

    Comment by Mike on the road | October 30, 2008

  2. Wonderful, Shelley! And always so happy to see your work here in cafe Crem!

    I am a big fan of the colour purple anyway… if I were a little bit more courageous, I would have purple hair!

    Comment by Miki | October 31, 2008

  3. Thank you, Michael and Miki! Yes, inspiration is everywhere.

    Oh my–purple hair? That would be fun!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 31, 2008

  4. I’m sure his Purpleness himself -Prince – would love this Shelley!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 31, 2008

  5. Thanks Kev! I’ve been humming Raspberry Beret for weeks! 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 31, 2008

  6. ah! great song!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 31, 2008

  7. Shelley, I LOVE this artwork!!!!!

    Comment by psychscribe | October 31, 2008

  8. Thank you, Psychscribe! I’m donating this to a school fundraising auction next week. I’m excited to see how it does.

    Kev–Have you recorded any Prince songs? I just took a quick look on Youtube (been spending way too much time there lately…watching old Soul Train clips), and I found A Cat Called Caramel. Now that would have made a great Halloween getup!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 1, 2008

  9. Haha! It certainly would Shelley! I covered “Let’s go Crazy” and “Never take the place of your man” by Prince many years ago, and have the videos somewhere – I’ll try and dig them out and put them on YouTube!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 2, 2008

  10. Yay! I’ve got my dancing shoes ready 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 2, 2008

  11. Your art warms me up Shelley and I love that you used coffee for color.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 3, 2008

  12. I like very much the contrast yellow ochre and violet. It moves me, in a way I’m not totally conscient…

    Comment by iondanu | November 3, 2008

  13. Very nice. A little spooky (face-less horseman!), but warm & cozy indeed.

    Makes me want a purple hoodie.

    Comment by sittingpugs | November 3, 2008

  14. Still in Halloween mode, eh Pugs? 🙂
    Perhaps we should market Purple hoodies with a cafe crem logo!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 3, 2008

  15. I would definitely sign up for one.

    Comment by sittingpugs | November 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

