Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Hermit of Babel

I thought I would show you some of the visitors in my new gallery, in the flower corner…

Strange, isn’t it, in 95% of the photos, it is Kevin who is on them smiling, and not me, as if HE were the artist! And in fact it is him, also, who tells the people about me and my art.

And honestly: I am glad he does, as I am not at all a person who enjoys speaking about herself. Yesterday evening, I was asked by this English lady if I also speak Spanish. I had no time to answer, Kevin was already saying:

Oh yes, fluently… she speaks everything, French, German, Spanish, English, Russian…”

I didn’t add anything but I was thinking:

“Yes, I speak every language, but I don’t say one word!”

By Miki

October 29, 2008 - Posted by | Art, friends, news, painting, personal, photo | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Wow, how beautiful! As usual, I wish I were there!

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | October 29, 2008

  2. One day, Madame Monet, I am sure, YOU will be here! Our new place is even closer to Morocco, you know!

    Comment by Miki | October 29, 2008

  3. Fabulous!! Kev – you’re a natural guide!

    Miki – you like to preserve your energy for more creative pursuits. I don’t like talking about myself, either.

    These are wonderful photos!

    Comment by Bonny | October 29, 2008

  4. You don’t need to speak for yourself. Your work speaks volumes.

    Comment by wrjones | October 30, 2008

  5. Ever artist should be so lucky to have a Kev, though I agree that your art will sell itself once people get to see it. How are people getting to you? Do you hours when you’re open?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | October 30, 2008

  6. It is very interesting, how and when we choose to communicate. I love this peek into the flower corner of your gallery! Right now, my kids are my most vocal fans. It is heartwarming when they show my work off.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 30, 2008

  7. Such happiness in this picture. To see everyone smiling amongst the paintings like watching a movie of people sitting outside together at a table with candles, food, wine and the sound of laughter.
    So how does it “really” feel to have your own gallery and to have people come over full of curiosity and telling you they love your paintings?
    Kindest,
    Michael

    Comment by Mike on the road | October 30, 2008

  8. Thanks everybody!

    Well, Michael, this is not my first gallery at all. I had a great gallery in Albir, the town where I lived before we moved here some weeks ago. And that gallery was certainly the hardest place to leave there…
    But it is wonderful to have a own gallery, to be independent above all. I love to receive people there, to have a glass wine with them, and to let Kevin make the gig! 🙂

    Comment by Miki | October 31, 2008

  9. Miki, you are so funny 🙂 I am SOOOO impressed with your work and exhibition.
    Wow! Even though I can’t see everything up close, the excitement of it all comes right through the photo. Kudos!

    Comment by psychscribe | October 31, 2008

  10. Thanks, Psych!
    It was very exciting for us too to mount this new gallery after we moved 260 km farther south and I had to leave behind me my other gallery…
    Nice to see you here by the way, I hope you are fine and had a nice wedding for your daughter!

    Comment by Miki | November 2, 2008

  11. You follow in your silence the suggestion of Goethe, miki: he was the one saying: Paint images, painter, don’t talk! Good to have a more talkative – and a musician, not a painter (I don’t know what did suggest Goethe to musicians!) like Kevin, to do the marketing/publicity work… I badly need a person like that since I’m not that talkative either…

    Comment by iondanu | November 3, 2008


Leave a Reply

