Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

If it weren’t for caffeine…

My dearest Cafe Creamers,

perhaps you remember that many months ago our wonderful friend Susan Cornelis, knowing how much I love beautiful coffee cups, sent me to Spain the most fantastic cup I have ever seen. And how she, some weeks later, as a thanks for the music he created to her art video, sent to Kevin another fantastic coffee cup from the same designer.

2 weeks ago I painted both cups together for Cafe Crem – yeah, not even our cups can exist without each other  🙂 –  and well, until now, I could not find time to show you the painting. But here they are, now

And… I have decided to exhibit this painting in my new gallery, and below, that, in honour to our great Cafe Crem, little  prints of some other coffee cups paintings I made for Cafe Crem. Today we had the first official visitor to the new gallery, and before she arrived, I had a coffee in Susan’s cup…

by Miki

October 22, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, culture, friends, fun, Miki's Paintings, personal, random, women | , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Wow! Miki, your new Gallery is beautiful!!!! You must be so proud of your new ‘art home’!

    Susan’s painting looks fabulous in the spot of pride. It deserves exactly that, it’s a wonderful painting!

    Congratulations on your first visitor to the Gallery!!!

    Comment by Bonny | October 22, 2008

  2. Thanks for your wonderful comment Bonny…

    Actually the cups are from Susan, the paintings of them are from me… but Susan has anyway always a special place in my gallery and wherever I am!

    Comment by Miki | October 22, 2008

  3. THank you for luring me back to CAfe Crem Miki! and Kev! Your gallery just continues to impress me. I see all those tubes of paint lined up on the shelf very decoratively. Good to see that you took time out from setting up your gallery to do the fun cup painting. It’s so like that series you were doing when I first “met” you and became so intrigued. Somehow you work your magic and give inanimate objects such fun personalities that they look like they could talk or sing or write poetry or something.

    Comment by Susan | October 22, 2008

  4. ..I think you’re talking about ME Susan, – the inanimate object with a fun personality that sings and writes poetry! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | October 22, 2008

  5. …By the way Susan, we use those cups often, and think of you when we do!
    Bonny: yep, we’re very proud of the new gallery, it feels like such a lively, positive place. Now it’s time to build my new studio..is there no respite? 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | October 22, 2008

  6. This blog catch my attention for two reasons. First, I am a painting enthusiast. Second, I am coffee lover. Your work is great, only if I have a chance to see them personally. The painting is very colorful and lively. I love the color combination you have use.

    Keep up the good work and I hope to see more of your work.

    Regards,
    John

    Comment by Brain Health | October 23, 2008

  7. Thank you very much, John!
    I ma not sure that everybody understands the interest of painting coffee cups, but apparently YOU do!

    By the way: this ‘Brain Health”, at first glance, seems very interesting to me. I love everything related to brain research and brain activity and health.

    Kind regards

    Miki

    Comment by Miki | October 23, 2008

  8. I am very intrigued by the photo of your gallery. It is inspiring to know people who walk the talk. You should feel proud of yourself and take time every day to count your blessings Miki.

    Your creative imagination also intrigues me too. I know people will come to see you and feel something special. But only the artist will know why.

    I wish nothing but happiness and a feeling of fulfillment for you.

    Comment by Mike on the road | October 24, 2008

  9. What a lovely room! I’d join you with a glass of the wine you have out on the counter….

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | October 25, 2008

  10. Congratulations on the inauguration of your new gallery! I love these coffee cup paintings. Your love of the experience of a good cup of coffee spills over as you infuse the cups with personality, life and attitude.

    Comment by bobcornelis | October 25, 2008

  11. well spotted, MM! Its a bottle of Rosa from the banks of the Douro, purchased on our Portugal trip! – and you’re welcome to join us for a glass anytime!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 26, 2008

  12. Miki!!! Congratulations for your new gallery! I’m so happy for you!
    And I’m so happy to be back in the blogsphere again 🙂
    I love your paintings so much!

    Miki!!! You can’t imagine how much I miss you… though much time passed by, I’ve never stopped thinking about you and your wonderful art. There are so many things to tell you!

    I send you lots of hugs!!!

    Mary

    Comment by Bird in Love | October 26, 2008

  13. Pajarito! So happy to see you back, I missed you too, and always thinking what you might do. Yes, please tell me all these things!
    Big Hugs

    Comment by Miki | October 27, 2008


Leave a Reply

