Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Black & White

These last weeks Kevin was often moaning at me that my presence in Cafe Crem is quite rare. I had loads to do, but in fact he is right. Especially in busy times it is important to chose the right priorities, and Cafe Crem, since its creation,  has always been one for me.

Anyway… yesterday Kevin went to the town to get some stuff to fix the lightings in my new gallery, and as he came back, he had not the planed stuff, but… 2 new lovely coffee cups. black & white, and a tiny bottle of black ink.  He gave me the cups and the ink and said:

„I want you to paint them for Cafe Crem, in black & white!“

Quite clever of him, I must admit!

Well, I (almost) always do what he says, so this morning, while he was still sleeping, the lazy boy, I painted the 2 new cups with the ink. I don’t know how that happened, but some colours entered the painting… they certainly were not in the ink bottle… must have been in the cups then!

By Miki

PS: I wonder when he will fix the lights…

October 3, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, Miki's Paintings, painting | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Well, Miki – it’s a wonder what the power of suggestion will do, isn’t it? 🙂 A beautiful creation to wake up to – and the cups aren’t bad either!!! As for the lights….well, I don’t know if the other guys here have the kind of D.I.Y. disasters I do, but it really wasn’t a good day yesterday – light fittings dropping from the skies, cable conduit raining down, bringing bits of ceiling with it – they make it look so easy on those perennially annoying TV shows don’t they? With some sanctimonious twerp in pristine overalls showing you the finished article under the kindly gleam of the television lights. Well let me tell you buddy, its not like that in the real world. there is sweat and pain and failure……and I’m gonna do it all again today. ((((sigh))))

    Comment by kevmoore | October 3, 2008

  2. Miki, that painting of your new cups is beautiful!! I think the colours were inspird by the rising sun and the light coming in your window – of course they were :)))!!

    Kev, I sympathize with you. Truly I do. My Dad and I had a small Fix-It business when I was in high school. After school, I would meet him at whatever job site he was at and we would work into the late evenings together. Lots of times the re-wiring in the older houses especially, turned into disasters. And we’d spend as much as 36 hours getting the job done so the people could have electricity to carry on with their lives. Fixing lights is often more involved than it appears on the surface. So Good Luck with the job!!! If I lived near by I’d be happy to lend you a hand….

    Comment by Bonny | October 3, 2008

  3. I like these cups a lot too. I can’t articulate it exactly, but something in the “texture” of the colors makes me think of San Francisco.

    I like the automatically generated, possibly related entry about the White Sox.

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 3, 2008

  4. Miki, you and Kev are wonderful together. And your painting is absolutely lovely! 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

