Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The meeting of two Cafe Crem family members!

WRJones sketching in a Sebastopol, California vineyard

As I write, my sketching buddy Bill is heading back home to southern California via a route selected for its cow and sheep scenery, which he plans to paint along the way. Yes, I successfully managed to lure the first of my Cafe Crem buddies to visit my home, taste our local wines, and spend an entire weekend sketching/painting in this heavenly fall weather. What a fun guy. What you can’t see in this picture are his beautiful blue eyes or the accomplished sketches he did, but the signature Bill Jones hat is there.

my sketch of Bill behind his back

Bill’s shoulders are in fact much wider than this (he wanted me to change the sketch to fix this, but I thought it was easier to just tell you).

So now it’s your turn to come visit!

And now Bill – it’s your turn. And Bill, don’t wait too long to come back!

-Susan

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | Art, friends, life, personal

5 Comments »

  1. Susan, Bill – I don’t mind telling you I felt very emotional about this first “reality” Cafe Crem meeting between two of our members – and what a lovely way to do it! but I need more info!! Was it hard to focus after drinking the contents of the vineyard? That sort of thing….. 🙂
    I can feel the day approaching when we all meet up!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 23, 2008

  2. I already told you, Susan, how touched and happy I was that Bill visited you and even attended your workshop. It is more than I ever dared to dream for our Cafe Creamers!
    But like Kevin, I need much more info! I would love to know how were the first moments of the encounter, the last moments, and all the other ones between! Give us details, don’t be shy, we all want to know MORE!
    I would love too to hear Bill´s version of the facts…

    I love the sketch, I love the photo, very funny and wrjonish the comment with the shoulders. At least one can’t see his ears… I remember him making some fun about the ears of your male sketches in the past…

    Comment by Miki | September 23, 2008

  3. OK, OK! So you want more! First of all you must go to Bill’s blog to read his version, Bill-style. ANd mine (which you already have)

    Ok, so I admit to having had some bit of apprehension about meeting this guy in person. I mean you know how many weirdos there are on the Internet? WE didn’t even talk on the phone until he was 15 minutes away, and his voice surprised me because of course you make up a voice for a person in the absense of actually hearing one. ANd you tend to fill in the personality too, etc.

    So he walks up the pathway to my door and we shake hands and I think yeah I like this guy. And there all kinds of things about him that are familiar – like that he’s an engineer (my dad was and Bob was too) and of course the sense of humor I already knew, and that he’s a Californian from the midwest farm area where many of my relatives came from. And he has a daughter in med school and has gone through all that launching a kid into the world stuff we’re going though. ANd I got to hear more about who the Lisa on their blog is, and his wife etc. etc. THe surprise was that he really did want to take the workshop and try out watercolor.

    Now I have to admit here that neither Bill nor Bob and I are very substantial drinkers, so I can’t elaborate there Kev, but we did eat alot of grapes off the vine. Does that count?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | September 24, 2008

  4. Susan, I’m so un-rock’n’roll when it comes to drinking, that if I drove after eating a bunch of grapes, I’d probably be arrested! Miki and I so wish we could’ve been there…but I guess there’d have been even less Pizza for Bill, and I could never do that to a guy!!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 24, 2008

  5. This is a serendipitous encounter a moment in the arc of our lives and a moment in the compassion and love I have been preaching here since the beginning. I am so glad that this happened and it says much more than words could ever say. But if Kev had some wine tonight I am sure he would write a classic Cafe Crem song that would quickly become a sensation. Oh it gives me chills!!!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | September 24, 2008


Leave a Reply

