Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Mixing business with pleasure….

Corey, Me, My Dad and Hollie, reduced to tears of laughter as my dad attempts to gain some extra height for the photo!

Corey, Me, My Dad and Hollie, reduced to tears of laughter as my dad attempts to gain some extra height for the photo!

I wanted to share with you all my weekend. I had a show to do on Friday in Great Yarmouth, a dreary East-Coast English seaside town, but by happy coincidence, the date fell the day before the Family Party, so for the first time in a few years, I was able to attend. The Family Party was started after my Grandma died. Everyone on my Mother’s side decided the family should meet twice a year. Since my mum passed away, and all my Auntie’s and Uncles have got older, it’s now just once a year. But for me, it’s a great opportunity to see everybody in one go, as I never get chance to travel around the country to visit them individually. an added bonus was that my Uncle Owen, my Dad’s brother, was over from New Zealand – so that saved a a hell of a trip!

Although not strictly coffee-related, I do have a wonderful tea-related anecdote. My Grandma, who died when I was a teenager, used to have a big metal teapot. When she died, it remained within the family, and it gets passed around to whoever is hosting the family party each year to make the tea for everybody. This year, it was my sister, Kaz.

A treasured family heirloom...and a teapot.

A treasured family heirloom...and a teapot.

But the best bit of all was being with my two children. It’s been a long time since we’ve all been together, and I savoured it.

Hollie and Corey

Hollie and Corey

There was also the revelation of seeing my Dad, at 76, still able to place a ball with deadly accuracy and devilish spin in a game of table tennis. (he used to play in a league when he was younger)

So, with no apologies, here’s some “family snaps”…. Kev Moore

Ladeez in da house - Hollie, My sister Kaz, and her daughter Rachael

Ladeez in da house - Hollie, My sister Kaz, and her daughter Rachael

Kids Picnic - My nephew Tom, his girlfriend, and Hollie and Corey, are banished from the grown-ups table!

Kids Picnic - My nephew Tom, his girlfriend, and Hollie and Corey, are banished from the grown-ups table!

Dad and brother Owen catch up on news from NZ while assorted Aunties, Uncles, Cousins, Neices and Nephews look on.

Dad and brother Owen catch up on news from NZ while assorted Aunties, Uncles, Cousins, Neices and Nephews look on.

Dad shows my cousin's young boy how it's done....

Dad shows my cousin's young boy how it's done!

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | Art, events, family, fun, life, love, Parents and Children, personal, photo, random, writing | , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Fabulous photos, Kev!!!! It looks like you all had a super weekend.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Bonny | September 17, 2008

  2. Great photos, Kev!

    Comment by ivdanu | September 17, 2008

  3. How lovely! It’s cute to see the not-so-little kids at the kids’ table 🙂 I used to love the rare chance to watch my grandfather play pool. With one arm, he could still dominate the game.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | September 17, 2008

  4. Thanks Bonny, Danu and Shelley! I’m glad you like them – couldn’t resist sharing them!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 17, 2008

  5. Oh Kev! I do love your family photos. THanks for including us. You kids are so good looking. Is Hollie going back to L.A. now?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | September 19, 2008

  6. 🙂 Thanks Susan! you are very kind. I think Hollie plans to return to L.A. in the New Year. She had a wonderful time out there. As for including you guys – you’re like my extended family!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 20, 2008

  7. I really enjoyed these! It’s great to see a family that really enjoys getting together.

    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

    Comment by elementaryteacher | September 20, 2008

  8. Thanks, MM! I’m glad that came over in the photos!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 22, 2008

  9. The first picture is really neat–it’s like the Wave. the kind that people do in sports arenas…only without the flowing up of arms.

    Comment by sittingpugs | September 22, 2008

  10. Hey Keverino, Hollie is one beauty. Corey is a very cool looking dude, and your dad, well, he is absolutely adorable! Thanks for sharing a peek into your family!
    Pamaretto

    Comment by Pamela Allegretto Franz | September 14, 2010

  11. Thanks, Pam!! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | September 14, 2010


Leave a Reply

