Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Too much Champagne!

To be honest I had too much champagne yesterday evening by the inauguration of my big exhibition at the local culture centre here! And well, as I tried today to draw for you our 2 new coffee cups (blue for the boy, pink for the girl), which Kevin bought last week end at the London airport, I got some problems with the balance. It seems anyway that I can’t draw vertical lines anymore… I wonder if I have a problem with my ears since I am living with a rocker…

by Miki

September 6, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, events, friends, humor, life, Miki's Paintings, personal, writing | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I wish I could have been there with you, celebrating! Congratulations.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by Madame Monet | September 6, 2008

  2. Congratulations on your show! I love these cups – they seem meant for each other. How do you give such a big personality to something as simple as a cup???

    Comment by bobcornelis | September 7, 2008

  3. I wish all of my Cafe Crem Friends had been there with us!

    @Bob
    I worked many years together with a Russian painter, who was a wonderful drawer. He taught me many things. But one thing was really like a revelation for me: once we were sketching some country houses outside, he looked at my houses and said:
    “Look, your drawing is too simple. You must try to capture “the personality” of the houses. It is exactly as by people, each thing in the word has a personality for a drawer’s eye, each tree, each house, each roof antenna, etc.”
    And of course each coffee cup! These simple words have totally changed my view of inanimated objects, you know, it was such an incredible revelation for me.
    It is really true, Bob, when you look at all these objects with a very sensitive eye, you will see the personality, what makes that one cup is exactly THIS cup and not another one. Sometimes it is only a weird length/width/depth proportion. sometimes a criss, some time a stain, etc. and when you focus your drawing on these personal marks, the objects get a personality!

    And when you look at them with love, what I always do, of course, when I look at our coffee cups, then they even get some kind of vie amoureuse!

    Comment by Miki | September 7, 2008

  4. Miki,

    I really like this idea of capturing the personality of each inanimate object. I will remember that.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | September 7, 2008

  5. Well, I loved the cups in reality – but the rendering of them by Miki makes them even more adorable!
    It just erupts from the screen, the life within them!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 7, 2008

  6. Congratulations on the show, Miki!! (Just getting caught up here after being away.)

    Love these cups. I especially like how one is pink and the other is blue. So cute!!

    Comment by Bonny | September 8, 2008

  7. I hope Miki your show will be a huge succes!

    And your Russian friend is very clever… I would have said the same (or similar)…

    Will we see some photos from your show? Soon?
    You did take some photos, dind’t you?

    Comment by iondanu | September 8, 2008

  8. Hi Danu – I’m responsible for the photos from the opening night (or lack of them) I’ll try and post something soon – the problem is that I pretty much stopped taking pics as soon as people started coming in and started chatting instead! (I fear I have since been relieved of my post as official photographer!)

    Comment by kevmoore | September 9, 2008

  9. Your cups are so full of life, Miki! Like they are doing a happy dance 🙂 Makes me smile. Sending big hugs your way!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | September 11, 2008


Leave a Reply

