Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Madame Monet’s Easy Chai

//www.afghanforums.com/showthread.php?p=453156

A cup of chai--Image by Eshwa, at http://www.afghanforums.com/showthread.php?p=453156

I first drank Chai at an Indian restaurant in Vancouver (about 25 years ago). I must have had ten cups, I thought it was so good.

The next place I found it was in Kenya. I stayed a long time in Nairobi in a very cheap hotel, where we went out to eat breakfast in the street. You can buy bread (maybe fried?) and chai. I think they’ve had a lot of Indian workers and shopkeepers who have gone to Kenya, which is probably how chai got to be popular there.

My easy recipe:

Mix a mug half full of hot whole milk, and half full of black tea. Add ground cardomom, and some sugar to taste.

Delicious!

Madame Monet

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | coffee

7 Comments »

  1. Nice, easy recipe MM! I like those kind! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | August 14, 2008

  2. Ah, Madame Monet, nice to see you and read one of your wonderful recipes! I have no idea though was “cardomom” is, Kevin has tried to explain me that it is a spice, but them, how do you want to explain the taste of a spice!!!
    And great to imagine you in Vancouver and Nairobi drinking chai…

    Comment by Miki | August 14, 2008

  3. That sounds really easy to make. I love drinking chai!
    Did you know that in Russian ‘chai’ just means tea – the ordinary kind? Rob, my husband travels to Russia for his work and he told me that what we know as the spicy tea beverage is just plain black tea to the Russians.
    Interesting how different cultures will put slightly different interpretations on the same words – and recipes.

    Comment by Bonny | August 14, 2008

  4. Yes, interesting Bonny. I learnt some Russian language, so i knew ithat chia means simply tea in Russian, and I had already wondered as I read it in Madame Monet’s post.
    If I remember well and if my ears did not betray me, I think that they called tea Cha in Portugal… but I have to check somewhere… I found it very strange. But again not so much considering that at the beginning, when we arrived to Portugal, I always thought to hear people speaking Russian when they spoke Portuguese. It is quite close, spoken (but not written!!!)

    Comment by Miki | August 14, 2008

  5. This is almost exactly the recipe for chai I drink first thing every morning! I use Red Label Indian tea and a sprinkle of cardomom. Yum!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | August 15, 2008

  6. That sounds so easy, even I could try it 🙂
    Thank you MM!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | August 16, 2008

  7. Such a pretty picture.

    Comment by PreeOccupied | April 22, 2010


Leave a Reply

