Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Back to Coffee Cups!

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After Kevin published here his last entry about our Portugal trip he said to me:

“Now, I am done! Somebody else will have to go on now!”

Well, I can understand him very well. I had many many things to do these last months and I feel I quite let him down here! And well, somehow I let you all down too, my dear Cafe Creamers, and I apologise for that. I really missed a lot our CC conversations around the cafe table, and now I miss especially all our wonderful paintings and photos of Coffee Cups. This is why I decided to get back to the original concept of Cafe Crem, at least for a while, until we all can’t see coffee cups any more!

So here, in honour of Sport and the Olympic Games (although I have no idea if football is an Olympic discipline, teach me better please!) , my new Coffee Cup Painting.

By Miki

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, friends, humor, life, Miki's Paintings, sport | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Yeaay! I love this! I’d better get drawing again then….. football IS an Olympic discipline, particularly the Women’s game. I’ve heard there’s a big discussion going on about having a Team GB Football team for the Olympics, that is: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. can’t wait to see the chaos that causes!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 13, 2008

  2. Yes, Kevin! You’d better get drawing again, it has been a long time, and I loved so much your paintings and stories of coffee cups…
    This reminds me something: it is incredible, but we didn’t even buy one cup in Portugal1 We have to back there urgently!!!

    Comment by Miki | August 13, 2008

  3. No cups from Portugal? Miki! Oh, well…
    Your olympic cup is wonderful! But can it take all that kicking around?
    As my children prepare to start school again, I am dreaming of a few quiet moments to drink and paint coffee 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | August 13, 2008

  4. Sweet corn tamales! I adore this image.

    Comment by sittingpugs | August 13, 2008

  5. I also love this painting – sort of surrealist. Makes me believe I can put a cup anywhere I please in a painting! Is there something unique about cups in this respect or can one put one of anything anywhere in any painting and have it work?

    I’m going to try to get in on this…

    Comment by bobcornelis | August 13, 2008

  6. @ Bob
    You make me laugh, you know! And yes, put a cup wherever you want and post it here, and it might arrive well! The more surrealistic the better!

    I wonder if you have recognised that the cup is not only a cup… I will tell you the secret of this painting. Originally it was (and still is) really a football painting, and exactly where the cup is is now was a football, and both players were fighting on that ball. The ball has also exactly the same diameter as the cup here. I just replaced the football with a photo of a coffee cup which I really have, and which Kevin gave me to celebrate me supporting England in the last World Cup!!! I poured then some coffee inside, just for fun.
    And I changed the colours too, because I did not like the original colours any more…

    @Sittingpugs
    And I adore your vocabulary, although I have no idea what it means! But it sounds so funny!!!

    @Shelley
    Hi you there, what a pleasure to read you again! I hope you and the children are fine!
    I am wondering when you will serve us your new coffee cups… can’t wait to see them 🙂

    Comment by Miki | August 13, 2008

  7. I had a friend who studied art at college and his thing was to place a red door in every single painting he did, regardless of theme or style. I don’t know if it helped him succeed in the art world. perhaps he became a door to door salesman…
    Pugs: i think its time you published one of those miniature books with all your sayings in!
    Hi Shelley! how embarrassing is it that we brought no cups back from Portugal? It will be rectified one day!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 14, 2008

  8. Hmmm… no cups from Portugal? Oh dear! This is a serious affliction. Yes, very serious. I’ll have to take consultation on this disease, but I reccommend a trip back to Portugal to remedy this oversight. Tsk, tsk…

    Comment by Bonny | August 14, 2008

  9. Great recommendation Bonny! We might go back there in October. But there was a strange thing in Portugal. everything was wonderful for me, except one thing: they didn’t have really good souvenirs, nowhere! Perhaps they had not enough turism until now to develop the culture of souvenirs…

    Comment by Miki | August 14, 2008

  10. If you tipped this cup I think the coffee would go directly into their running mouths!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | August 15, 2008


Leave a Reply

