Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Animalia Portuguesa – 2 cats, some fish…and a toad.

In my final entry in the “Animalia Portuguesa” series, I offer a disparate bunch from right across the spectrum of the Natural world. The first lot would eat the second lot, but don’t like to get wet, and the third one is equally at home in both the first and second’s environment! Enjoy….

This cat, from the Camp site at Campo Mayor, had such a beautiful face, but would not keep still long enough to get a clean shot! (The day before, that beautiful face had the back end of a mouse sticking out of it...

This cat, from the Camp site at Campo Mayor, had such a beautiful face, but would not keep still long enough to get a clean shot! (The day before, that beautiful face had the back end of a mouse sticking out of it...

 

I call this the Moorish Cat. It prowled the walls and battlements of the Moorish Fort in Sintra. It had such a graceful fluid movement, and accompanied us throughout our visit.

I call this the Moorish Cat. It prowled the walls and battlements of the Moorish Fort in Sintra. It had such a graceful fluid movement, and accompanied us throughout our visit.

 

Beneath the serene surface of the Sintra lakes on which the Black and White swans glided, the sundappled underworld teemed with beautiful fish.

Beneath the serene surface of the Sintra lakes on which the Black and White swans glided, the sundappled underworld teemed with beautiful fish.

 

As we came to the end of our exhausting climb to the entrance of the Palace de Pena at Sintra, I noticed a movement in the undergrowth, whereupon I discovered this magnificent fellow. Surely his residence here in Sintra rivals that of Toad of Toad Hall!

As we came to the end of our exhausting climb to the entrance of the Palace de Pena at Sintra, I noticed a movement in the undergrowth, whereupon I discovered this magnificent fellow. Surely his residence here in Sintra rivals that of Toad of Toad Hall!

Kev Moore 

August 2, 2008 - Posted by | animals, life, nature, photo, photography, random, travel, writing | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I like very much. The white cat already looks like it’s going to pounce.

    Comment by sittingpugs | August 2, 2008

  2. I’m impressed by the size and number of fish in the lake! It makes even a non-fisherman like myself have visions of dropping in a line and a few moments later pulling out dinner!

    Comment by bob cornelis | August 2, 2008

  3. Bob, thats exactly how full a lake would have to be for me to be confident about catching dinner! I’m sure I’m a lot more successful at popping down the local supermarket than I would be at being a hunter-gatherer!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 3, 2008

  4. I love this big juicy toad! When my boys were little I was always helping them catch frogs and toads. Thanks for the tour of the fauna of Portugal!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | August 4, 2008

  5. My pleasure Susan! This fellow was a beauty, wasn’t he? I don’t know if he was one of the hallucinogenic types…I didn’t lick him to find out!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

