Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Graduation

Not much time for bloggin lately, so I thought I just check back in by sharing this news with you all.


Me, Ben-graduate, Andy

Ben is post-graduation, post-all night party today. And those eagle wings seem stronger and less in need of a mother bird today. I even caught myself saying “Maybe you should take a nap before you go out tonight.” Then stopped and said aloud (so I would hear myself) “But you don’t need me saying this any more.”

I didn’t even cry at graduation! Even when the choir sang sweet good bye songs, and the kids I’d known since 5th grade marched across the stage. But that may have to do with the 90 degree heat and worrying (like a mom once again!) about the graduates sitting in the direct sun in their black caps and gowns and dress clothes underneath, while the parents sat in the shade fanning themselves and drinking cold drinks.

Now my 89 year old mom is here making her way slowly and happily through the high school yearbook, reading the boys’ research papers and looking at art projects, drinking in their youth like a tonic.

June 16, 2008 - Posted by | Art

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulation to the young graduate and to his mom! Don’t you worry susan, they still need you for a long long time…

    Comment by iondanu | June 19, 2008

  2. Great pic of you and the guys, Susan – you must be so proud! Hearty congratulations, ((manly back-slapping and all that sort of thing))

    Comment by kevmoore | June 19, 2008


Leave a Reply

