Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Are you going to Scarborough fair? Well…er… no, I’ve just come back actually….

manchester airport security queueThe hour long wait to get through the new ‘efficient’ manchester airport secuirty system….

Another weekend of travel hell, another dollar, or however the saying goes. I suffered for my art this trip, with turbulence-crazy flights both ways, lightning storms off the starboard wing (did I detect a hint of mania in the captain’s announcement that they “won’t bother us”?) – and a “new improved” security system at Manchester airport designed for “greater efficiency”. Designed by whom?  Amoeba?

I landed at East Midlands airport at 11.20 in the evening, and was grateful to be picked up by my sister and her husband. by the time we got back to my Dad’s in Derby, he’d gone to bed! She left me with my birthday present, saying I should unwrap it in front of him. So the unthinkable happened. I got up at 6.30 am and took my Dad a cup of tea in bed. I think the shock nearly hospitalised him!

Anyway, I opened the present and fell on the floor laughing. he wasn’t quite sure why….

“Don’t you like it?” he said

“I love it! it’s perfect!” I said. They had bought me, for my fiftieth birthday, a framed and mounted vinyl single with a commemorative plaque, of the song that was number one in the UK on the day that I was born. It was by Connie Francis. The title? …Who’s Sorry now!!!

Dad dropped me at Derby train station and I headed up to Sheffield to meet my daughter Hollie for breakfast It was lovely to see her, albeit briefly, as we don’t seem to get the time anymore, but I wanted to catch her before she went to America for the summer. You can check out her new music HERE.

Hollie

I got Glenn Hughes new CD for my birthday from her, getting Glenn’s new album from Hollie has become something of a tradition in recent years! Then it was a quick hop on the Supertram across town to catch the train to Doncaster, where I met up with  my son Corey and we had lunch and browsed the local music shop, where my new bass had been built and was ready for collection. and a what a beauty it was!

dan electro longhorn semi-acoustic bass

I’ll be talking more about it in The Musiquarium in the future.

corey and kev

Corey was in good form, and I wished him luck with his exams as I put him on the train back to Wakefield, and waited for the guys in the band to come and get me. You can hear some of Corey’s band, Jilambis, HERE.

Next …just like old times…

May 26, 2008 - Posted by | family, friends, humor, life, Music, Parents and Children, personal, travel, writing | , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. hmmm amoeba is involved in more projects I’m afraid!

    Regardless of that you managed to get a lot done in a weekend.

    Happy birthday!

    Comment by Elisavet | May 26, 2008

  2. Thanks Elisavet! yes…what I didn’t mention in this article was the Amoeba’s involvement in introducing random replacement bus services instead of trains with no cohesive plan whatsoever. Any trip to the UK for me now always seems to result in the phrase “third world” resounding through my travel-addled brain!

    Comment by kevmoore | May 27, 2008

  3. yup I totally agree, many are the times when I’ve thought third world country…. and I think only if you’ve lived elsewhere where things are better planned, organised and immaculate service do you realise this. Having said all this, it is a good country in many other ways too despite the amoeba presence 🙂

    Comment by Elisavet | May 27, 2008

  4. Well…I really have to work at avoiding being the Brit abroad that sees all the wrongs and none of the rights…but I’m trying!

    Comment by kevmoore | May 27, 2008

  5. Honestly, Kev Moore, I can’t stand these people who live abroad and criticise their new country all the time, repeating how things are much better home!

    Comment by Miki | May 27, 2008

  6. Miki, you’re a nightmare! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | May 27, 2008

  7. I said it, moaning all the time!

    Comment by Miki | May 27, 2008

  8. Great kids and great guitar, Kevin!

    Comment by iondanu | May 29, 2008

  9. Thanks, Danu! it’s always great to see the kids, but it’s sometimes tinged with a certain sadness that I don’t get to spend much time with them, nevertheless, at lest it’s quality time. The bass guitar…well, I haven’t put it down since I got home, it plays and sounds like a dream! i will be doing a feature on how I sourced the parts and how and why i wanted it built, and the difficulties in constructing one like this. It’s a bit like a duck on water – there’s a lot going on underneath that you can’t see!!

    Comment by kevmoore | May 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

