Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

French press

In the pursuit of the perfect cup of coffee my husband adopts a new method of making coffee about twice a year. If you’ve been with Cafe Crem a while you will remember the last method he employed, which used a special espresso maker and coffee in sealed cups. Most recently he did some research on the Internet and discovered that the best coffee is brewed in a French Press like the above one and that the coffee bean must have been roasted within the past two weeks and ground in special grinder found in the roasteries (a burr grinder?) And so the experimentation is being happily performed while I continue to use the boring method of drip filtering American style. Yawn!

And allow me also to present my roses, which I take every opportunity to show off lately. They’re really for you and I hope you can smell them too!

-Susan

May 8, 2008 - Posted by | coffee, culture, family

7 Comments »

  1. I love coffee made in my french press. Here’s a link to a blog entry I posted:

    http://cigarsmokingman.wordpress.com/2007/08/31/my-coffee-the-french-press-way/

    Comment by cigarsmokingman | May 8, 2008

  2. Beautiful flowers, Susan! In England, we call this device a cafetiere, and unfortunately in my mind it is synonymous with treacle-black, bitter coffee (with chewy bits that slip through the not altogether efficient seal) The drip filter method I love, but only the first, fresh cup. It always seems impossible to keep this stuff warm for more than 5 minutes without it tasting like liqourice! But your roses, well, they look REALLY fresh!

    Comment by kevmoore | May 8, 2008

  3. I anyway only love Nescafe Gold!
    And yes, Susan, I remember very well the expresso maker, you made a great post with photo about it!

    thank you for the roses, yes of course, one can smell them in Cafe Crem, even better than coffee.
    A beautiful photo…

    Comment by Miki | May 8, 2008

  4. Susan, it’s a beautiful picture you’ve posted here.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | May 8, 2008

  5. beautifull roses,. DOn’t the coffee grounds get into teh coffee with the press? I would think they do, so I never bought one of these. Let u s know how good it was in a follow-up .

    Comment by anangeli | May 8, 2008

  6. Wow! susan! great roses and even better evocation (? is it the good term) of two of the greatest perfumes in the world: roses and last but not least, roasted coffee beans! Add lime/lemon/orange peels aroma and you got my all time favourites!

    Comment by iondanu | May 9, 2008

  7. Anangeli – well I think the idea is that the coffee grounds are strained out in the bottom section, which seems to work, but the coffee has more of a hint of the actual coffee grounds than say, drip coffee. So far, it seems too strong to me or something.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | May 9, 2008


Leave a Reply

