Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Fighting the Bulls!

Today I want to tell you what I am doing right now. I believe I never mentioned it in Cafe Crem, but about 6 months ago I have been contacted by a big printing company from Eastern Europa. They had found some bullfight paintings from me on the net, and approached me by mail in the following way::

“Hello Miki,

you are unable to understand how happy I am to finally find some images for our calendar title. The idea of this calendar is because the next year following to chinese will be bull year. so we have decided to have calendar of corrida, but it was very difficult to find some good paintings for it. Please let me know, if you have enough images for calendar title – i need 12 or 13 paintings. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO HAVE THEM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE… “

Of course I accepted. The calendar being sold in 9 different countries, it could not be a better chance for me! I got a contract for 2009 and 2010, and I delivered my first 13 paintings in October. The 2009 calendar is about to be published now and will soon appear in big stores all over Europe.

I must deliver the next 13 paintings for the 2010 calendar on the 1st of september this year, and as we will be travelling a lot, and even definitely moving to Kevin’s place here, and me even opening a new gallery, I won’t have time later on to make these paintings. And this is why, since we arrived here, I have taken the cape again and spend my days fighting the bulls…

Above, the painting I did today..And please don’t criticise me too much for painting bullfight… I know it is a delicate theme…

By Miki

April 25, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Art, Cafe L'Arte, culture, Miki's Paintings, personal, random, travel, women | , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. Congratulations, Miki! I am glad to be the first to do so and say that you deserve this… that your paintings are really … ma-a-a-rvelous! It is with great pleaseure that I read this. Many more to come!!!

    Comment by anangeli | April 25, 2008

  2. Dear Miki,

    I love this painting. I love the movement, and the colors.

    Congratulations on the calendar sales! The internet is connecting all sorts of like-minded people now, just like here.

    Best regards,
    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | April 25, 2008

  3. Great painting, miki! fierce bull… Glad you’ll be on all afficionados” walls… Is a chance you deserve and I hope (after they are published) we will be also able to admire them… Tell me if they want some horse calendar or such…(a new horse painting on my blog at: http://ivdanu.wordpress.com/)…

    Comment by iondanu | April 26, 2008

  4. When I picked up a book over 25 years ago I never knew that it would be the book that would consume me and comfort me and lead me towards writing.

    The book was A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway. I actually stole it from the library while visiting my home town and I felt so guilty I went back a few years late and paid for it saying I lost it.

    The irony and the reason I can relate to this post goes deep within me because Hemingway was a lover of bull fights and the fighters and the bulls.

    Since you live in Spain then you know they have erected a statue of Hemingway in honor of his passion for The Fiesta de San Fermín Pamplona, Spain 6 – 14 July

    The painting immediately gave me such a warmest feeling and hope. And hope I know means possibilities.

    Thank you Miki for sharing. Sharing is a gift each of us has and we cannot predict what the effect will be.

    Your painting itself is imbued with the passion Hemingway had and I think it was in the doing that you became great as opposed to doing to be great. This is a very delicate undetected flaw of most humans who suffer. There are many more too. But I shall leave with a smile on my face.

    Comment by Michael | April 26, 2008

  5. I’m very excited for you Miki! I love the movement in your bullfighting paintings.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 26, 2008

  6. Thanks everybody! I was quite excited too as I got the contract except that I had to paint, and still have, all these bullfights… it was by the way exactly at a time when I wanted to stop to paint bullfights, although I always sold them very well! But people wanted to put me in that drawer of “Bullfight painter” and I didn’t want! But well, I could not say “no” to the calendar. Such an opportunity!

    @ Danu
    well, they have 2 horses calendars, as far as I can see, both of photos. They might be interested in a horse paintings calendar (when is the horse year in the Chinese calendar?) I don’t know. If you want to contact them, tell me please, I will give your their website. But I wish you not to mention that I gave you the address, please…

    @Michael
    I have seen with Kevin a documentary about Hemingway not a long time ago, it was fantastic! And of course I have read some of his books as I was young. I keep repeating me that I should read some again, now that I live in Spain.
    I have a long personal story of bulls and bullfights behind me… it is a story of love, about which I generally don’t speak, too used to get attacked about it!

    @Madame Monet
    Thank you!
    By the way everybody, go to her blog and look at her first painting she has put online… it is great! A big black animal is on it too, but it is not a bull…

    @Anangeli
    Thanks Yolanda, I can really feel that you are happy for me. This means a lot to me!

    Comment by Miki | April 26, 2008

  7. I’m happy for you, miki. Yours are pretty and original paintings and I’m sure they will be successful. Maybe you could do a couple of rejoneadores, too, so people get to see that kind of (horseback) bullfighting. There you could have beautiful bulls AND beautiful horses in the same picture, all in movement, as you like to do.

    Comment by 100swallows | April 26, 2008

  8. Thank you for visiting me here and leaving that kind comment!
    Yes, I will do some rejoneadores! I have done one already about 2 years ago… and I will do picadores too, although this is more delicate and people don’t want to see them!
    But the director from the calendar company want only bulls, so I have to do these first…

    By the way: do you like them, the rejoneadores I mean? I much prefer the normal bullfight, somehow… I love to see man and bull so close to each other… and I really don’t like to see the horse so close to the bull horns!!!
    But they are surely a wonderful theme for paintings…

    Comment by Miki | April 26, 2008

  9. Give me an M
    Give me an I
    Give me a K
    Give me a I
    what’s that spell?
    Miki!!!!
    Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

    Comment by Michael | April 26, 2008

  10. Now I definitely feel a STAR!
    Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

    Comment by Miki | April 26, 2008

  11. I’m like you–I don’t care for the corridas de rejones. I’m terribly scared for the horse (I’ve seen one killed in the ring and another gored so badly it died later). They are so beautiful, so clever, and of course they have learned to control their natural fear of the bull. And I dislike the circus touch. I want the man to risk his own neck and not put that beautiful, trusting animal in danger.
    Maybe you can do the picadores without showing the wound they make. That peto (sort of mattress) they protect them with now makes them less interesting to paint, less horse-like. They are just a sort of fence with a horse’s head looking over.

    Comment by 100swallows | April 26, 2008

  12. @100swallows
    I thought you wouldn’ t care for this kind of corridas. I agree with each word, and I am glad that I never saw a horse killed in the arena!
    like you i don’t like the circus aspect… although I love normal circus… when it is good (which is quite rare…)!
    I don’t garee that the picadores are less interesting to paint. I don’t care so much about the lower part of the horse. What I find beautiful is the upper part, especially when they plant the pica in the bull, I mean, the position of the picador’s body, especially when the bull is forcing against the horse. This all looks so powerful, the bull, the man, the horse, this is what I love! There are wonderful positions to paint there, don’t you agree? and anyway, from the right perspective, putting the bull in the foreground, from behind, it would hide the peto! God, do you notice how I get excited again? Would love to go to a bullfight today!!!
    When is your next one? I mean real one, not on the TV?

    Comment by Miki | April 27, 2008

  13. Hello Miki,

    congratulations for the contract of the bull-fighting calendar. It is a great opportunity of getting well known …

    Wishing you good luck at your new place in Turre,
    Eva

    Comment by givethemhell | April 27, 2008

  14. Thank you Eva!
    I hope though I won’t be too well known, because I definitely don’t want to spend the rest of my life fighting the bulls! 🙂

    Comment by Miki | April 27, 2008

  15. Needless to say, I am so proud of Miki and the calendar! Madame monet echoes my own thoughts when she says “I love the movement” it is precisely that that speaks the genius in Miki’s interpretations, they leap from the page, speaking volumes about this tradition. The heavy, stylised oil renderings of bullfights are dead to me, they say nothing, save crying “tourist kitsche” but Miki’s …. well, call me biased by all means, but I think they’re sprinkled with fairy dust!

    Comment by kevmoore | April 28, 2008

  16. […] painting, Miki, Turre, village in Spain, watercolour landscape I was tired to fight the bulls this afternoon, layed the cape down, dreamt through the window and painted what I saw… just a […]

    Pingback by Painting the Blues… « Infinity + some + 2 | April 28, 2008


Leave a Reply

