Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Mug shot and bright “ideas”…

In fact, the following is just a way to show off a bit… I also got a new camera… So I ask a young friend of mine, Michael, to take a picture of myself with my new Olympus FE 310 and I even try it on a fluorescent bulb, a thing usually not easy to photograph…

I had another Olympus, a FE 140. Not bad at all but only a 3X zoom (the new one has a 5X one) and 6 Meg (8 for the new one)…I’ve upgraded a bit and hope to take some great pictures this summer (By the way, Kev and Miki, Janis Joplin’s “Summertime” is another “hit the spot music”, for me, at least…) My daughter Ioana, soon to be married (and, I hope, not too late a mother of my first grandson/grandaughter) “inherited” (in fact I’ve sold her the camera for a “symbolic” price) the old Olympus (I wish I was that old too – 2-3 years!) as she was the recipient of my eMac… I hope she and his bride to be, David, will make a lot of pictures and give to me also, some… So, here it is, my ugly mug (I’m not saying this to be consoled or contradicted! except my “sensual” lips, the rest…let’s just not talk about the rest, ok?) and, much more important, some of my paintings in the background…

April 20, 2008 - Posted by | Art, family, friends, personal | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Wonderful post, Danu!
    And what a pleasure to see you again! One should really post some new photos from ourselves from time to time, this adds a lot to the presence in Cafe Crem, it becomes almost real!
    Kevin and me we would love to sit right now at the Cafe table, Danu, and chat about cameras, songs, films, peintres maudits et autres! And we would put Nights in White satin, and Summertime, and much more great stuff on the juke box! What do you think? Can this fantasy brighten your day?
    Kevin and me will get soon both a new digital camera. Exactly the same model, except that his will be black, and my pink (oh yeah!). A very small, thin format, because my big camera is not always adequate when we are outside. I can’t wait to get them!
    Great photos, touching to see you among your paintings!
    When will exactly Ioana marry? And are you very much looking forward to grand-children? Will we get some babies paintings to see then?

    Comment by Miki | April 20, 2008

  2. Hey Danu, great photos! You’re looking well! I always enjoy your musical references. Your Janis number got me thinking of “Stay with me baby” by Bette Midler from The Rose’ – a great moment too.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 20, 2008

  3. Hey Danu. Glad to see you. My I would love to have paintings like those surrounding me. Hope everything is going well. Spring is here so that is a start right!

    Comment by Michael | April 21, 2008

  4. @Michael
    I hope you will show us Spring in Canada! I have seen my Spring here, then Susan’s Spring in California, now I a waiting with impatience to see yours!

    Comment by Miki | April 21, 2008

  5. We got snow. Lots of it. Skiing officially ended at Mont Tremblant with people wearing nothing but shorts and t-shirts. Temperatures in the 20’s during the day dropping down to maximum 0 degrees Celsius. The first purple flower broke through Cafe ru de la Morin this weekend a sight to behold. Then I saw another at La Choclaterie. The force of such a delicate thing as a flower is remarkable. Nothing stops its upward push toward the sun and as if praising the Lord it opens its petals while all the ground around it remains brown and barren. The swollen river banks are bigger than ever seen and the places where there are rapids rise up with a roar to 15 feet or more giving off a gentle mist. The roar and the gentle mist is an appropriate image to hold in your mind. People are smiling and are happy compared to last week where we all had just about enough of winter. Spring here arrived in one day and a re-birthing of the spirit under the full moon is the spectacle.

    Comment by Michael | April 21, 2008

  6. Miki: yes, miki, that’s a fantasy I would love to live! and, who knows? maybe I will really take a trip to Spain and France, one of these days…
    The marriage is to be taken place the 8th of August.
    And sure, I would be very excited to see my daughter’s progeny (of course, there is also a part of me who’s “inquiet” and anguished but then, that’s life, no?
    What kind of cameras are you planning to buy? (mine is black too)

    Comment by iondanu | April 21, 2008

  7. Kev: I know Bette Midler mostly as a comedy actress (she was great in The Vagabond of Beverly Hills, with Richard Dreyfuss and Nick Nolte!) but I’m sure if you like it, I like it too…

    Comment by iondanu | April 21, 2008

  8. Michael: You know, Michael, it would be really easy to have those paintings surrounding you, man… They are for sale and for peanuts, really… Write me if interested… I will make you a very friendly price and I will give some for free…

    I hope your writting is going better than my painting… didn’t touch much my brushes, lately, with my son’s broken leg and such… But spring is here also, we got the summer directly from winter and now I wear sandals and shorts…

    Comment by iondanu | April 21, 2008

  9. What beautiful paintings! And a great photo of you with the paintings behind.

    Best regards,
    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | April 21, 2008

  10. Thanks, Madame Monet!

    Comment by iondanu | April 22, 2008

  11. I really loved seeing you again. Love the paintings corner, I am sure you get lots of inspiration there.

    Comment by anangeli | April 24, 2008


Leave a Reply

