Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Knights in White Satin

This was Friday night. I was alone home. Outside a tornado suddenly arisen from nowhere the night before was still screaming through all available space holes. By the way, I would have loved to spend some time in Cafe Crem that night, but the tornado had cut me off from the rest of the world.

I had painted many hours the whole day and I was lying in the darkness on the sofa, relaxing. Only 2 candles were alight on the table close to the sofa, and I stared at them, fascinated by the structure of the hot wax inside and the light they reflected on the glass chess game. Kevin was performing in a solo gig somewhere in the area, featuring for the first time that wonderful song “Nights in White Satin” which never stopped to raise my feelings to a climax of romanticism and longing. He played that song for me, he said, because he used for the first time the Amp I had given to him on our last trip in France, some weeks ago, which allowed him to play for the first time a solo on the electric guitar (remember, he is a bass player!). He played too 2 songs for you, Michael! I don’t know which ones…. you will have to ask him!

Anyway I stared at the candles and the chess game and I thought of Cafe Crem and I took that photo for you all! By the way I want to state here and now that we have great photographers in Cafe Crem, and I mean it: Yolanda, Michael, Danu… Kevin is on the way to become one as he will get a camera soon, and judging by the photos he made with my camera sometimes, I am sure that he will have a lot of beautiful stuff to share with us! Oh yes, there is Madame Monet too, she has got a new digital camera, and I have no doubts that such an artistic and tasteful person will make great photos. And Susan, yes, we have already seen some photos from her, they were great too… anybody else?

What a fantastic bunch of artists we all are, aren’t we?

By Miki

April 20, 2008 - Posted by | Art, culture, friends, life, love, men, Music, nature, personal, photography, random, women | ,

9 Comments »

  1. Lying on the sofa in candlelight and peace while a tornado rages outside. That’s an artistry of living, Miki. Most people were probably more concerned about the tornado than getting on the internet! Obviously the tornado didn’t hit where you were, thankfully. Love your picture.

    Comment by Susan | April 20, 2008

  2. Great pciture, miki! I always thought that the more difficult the lighting conditions, the more chances for a photo to be extraordinary…

    And susan is right: that’s an artistry of living! (me, I envy – benevolently – more your traveling capacities, your motor home) Observing weird light effect and listening to Nights in white Satin! that must be something! I think there are some songs and some musical phrases which are marking you: for me, apart from Nights in White satin, is Stairways to heaven (Led Zeppelin) or even a phrase from Ketelby’s On a Persian Market… and some others…

    Comment by iondanu | April 20, 2008

  3. A really great tale Miki. Equally important is the photograph. Combined together one is transported into another realm for a visit and upon returning one feels a certain lingering.
    That is when you know you will yearn for more and more.
    Fantastic post.

    Comment by Michael | April 20, 2008

  4. @Susan
    well, what I called tornado was not one of the sort they get in Oklahoma! But still scary… and still going on, partly… I hate it! Strong wind makes me feel very uncomfortable, even aggressive sometimes… as I always have a feeling of end of the world when I hear and see a storm…

    @Danu
    Great observation with the light conditions and the quality of a photo. I guess the same is true about paintings. And in fact, for me, extreme light conditions give extreme contrasts, and I love everything which has extreme contrasts!
    I Love Stairways to heaven too!
    And I know, Danu, we are very lucky with our motor home. I wished so much that you could do it too. I know that you enjoy nature, like me, and painting it, “from face to face”…
    We make you here officially an offer, Danu: if you can find a way to come to Spain one day, and if you can drive the beast, we will lend it to you for a couple of weeks. How does that sound?

    @Michael
    thank you for your beautiful comment. And thank you too for your wonderful participation to Cafe Crem, I appreciate it so much!

    Comment by Miki | April 20, 2008

  5. And the tittle is so, so sensual, and fitting. It’s a great photo and I can see you adapt easily to whatever life presents to you, making the best of a less than perfect situation. Great attitude, making art in the midst of a storm, good way to start a novel, also. Photography seems yo have become a great way to channel cafe cremers creative energies. Very good.

    Comment by anangeli | April 20, 2008

  6. C’est belle.

    Comment by sittingpugs | April 21, 2008

  7. Merci Sittingpugs!

    Thank you Anangeli!
    Who writes the novel now? You? 🙂

    Comment by Miki | April 21, 2008

  8. Yes, Miki, I will definitely be submitting some photos before long.

    The photo above looks like delicious vanilla ice cream!

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | April 21, 2008

  9. Good morning Madame Monet!
    I am in fact very impatient to see your photos, and I hope you enjoy your new camera! As i read you have got one, I was so happy as if it was me who got it!!!
    Very funny with the vanilla ice cream!

    Comment by Miki | April 22, 2008


Leave a Reply

