Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Crying in my invisible corner…

Dear Cafe Creamers,

We left our home in Albir yesterday to start our three months “vacation” which brings us, in a first step to our other place down south, from which we will start in the middle of May for an 8 week trip exploring the length and breadth of Portugal.

I have to put the word “vacation” in, because in fact, before we can set off for Portugal, Kevin has to perform in 5 different gigs in 3 different countries. And well, concerning me, I am almost never on holiday and in fact when we travel I work more than ever! But what a wonderful way to work, isn’t it? I am a very lucky girl, I know… I really wish I could share my luck with all my painter friends from Cafe Crem…

So, yesterday we travelled from Albir to Turre in our funny convoy, Big Kevin driving the big truck, Tiny Miki driving the tiny Smartie. I especially look quite ridiculous when we travel this way as I always stay behind the motor home (I must always keep an eye on my Kevin…) and people surely wonder about my driving behaviour, which doesn’t correspond at all to the sporty appearance of Smartie…

There was a lot of traffic, I don’t know why they were all suddenly heading to the South… maybe a holiday period of which we weren’t aware? Could be… living in Spain after one month you forget which date it is, after 2 months which day of the week, then which month, then which year… I am not exaggerating! There is something here in Spain which makes you forget the structure of time…

Anyway… we arrived quite late and quite exhausted and spent the rest of the evening relaxing with some videos. Today was even worse, we had to fight again to have the internet reconnected and we mounted a quite big exhibition for me. Something awful happened: one of the biggest paintings (70 x 90 cm, with glass) fell down from the wall on which we had just hung it, almost on the head of a woman sitting there and scared her to death … it was an awful moment, I felt so sorry, and above all so ashamed… what a lack of professionalism, I thought… Well, I had too many things to do and to prepare over the last few days and I didn’t check well enough the paintings which were already framed. I don’ t know if that already happened to you, but if the answer’s yes, you will know the incredible amount of glass fragments that accompany such a breakage… it is like when you spill a liter of milk on the ground and have to wipe it, it seems like 100 liters suddenly…

Kevin was so kind to the mess while In was crying in my invisible corner… as a thank I finally invited him to an enormous and delicious Ney York chicken!

By Miki

April 17, 2008 - Posted by | Art, life, love, nature, news, personal, random, travel, writing | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hello Spain/Portugal ???/
    hey Miki I was posting at the same time as you about dreams.
    Serendipitous hey!

    just keep on rocking on dear friends/ true friends
    /michael

    Comment by Michael | April 17, 2008

  2. Hello Canada!
    At the moment we are still in Spain. until the middlle of may…
    Tomorrow we will be definitively back to Cafe Crem, I mean with much more time to share and comment all our entries!
    Have a nice day, Michael! Wonderful to find you here, wherever we are…

    Comment by Miki | April 17, 2008

  3. Oh yeah, its a busy time for us! i love the feeling of “hitching up the wagons” and just heading off the way we do, I never forget how lucky we are to do this. it was , as Miki says, a stressful day today though. I think the whole venue thought I’d gone religious, as immediately following the resounding crash when the painting hit the floor, I answered it with an equally resounding “JESUS CHRIST!”

    Comment by kevmoore | April 17, 2008

  4. Oh dear Miki! I can just imagine your dismay and embarrassment. That’s a story to tell over a glass of wine (or cafe crem) with your friends AFTER it’s over. A good one.
    I think there’s something in the planets again! AFter Ben washed our brand new cell phone in his pants pocket, next he dried his pants and little pellets from his air soft gun got into the machinery and $135 later today we had it repaired. Since I’m going away I’m considering putting warning signs up all over the house and yard to prevent more disasters while I’m gone!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 17, 2008

  5. haha sorry for the laughter but the post were so funny I couldn’t help myself.

    Comment by Michael | April 18, 2008

  6. @Michael
    Good morning Canada!
    No problem with the laughter, this is exactly what we did too after we left the place, AFTER it’s over, as Susan says!
    And as she says too, there is something in the planets again… well, there is always something in the planets, I guess, but it is not always the same persons who notice it. At the moment, the something seems to be in Spain and in California…
    And… I would write any sense ot nonsense to make you laugh!!!!

    @Susan
    Don’t worry about the disasters at home in your absence, I am quite sure that the planetary something is following YOU everywhere!

    Comment by Miki | April 18, 2008

  7. Good Day Spain!
    I was laughing because it was written so well.

    Comment by Michael | April 18, 2008

  8. I was just listening to Amalia Rodrigues and take in the sweet sound of Portugese… I’ve hear wonderful things about the landscapes and the people over there, Miki and Kev and I’m sure you’ll have a heck of a time… Keep us posted with paintings and photos, ok? I was absent a while from Internet – commission to do, the usual problems – so boring and so nerve racking… Hope I could be more in the cafe…

    Comment by iondanu | April 18, 2008

  9. Danu, we will do just that, and hope to give a flavour of our travels there to you guys.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 19, 2008

  10. So sorry to hear about the painting falling.

    I hope you’ll put in plenty of pictures of your trip through Portugal! It is one place I have never been (but would like to go).

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | April 20, 2008


Leave a Reply

