Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Country girl

Susan, April 13

On Friday I’ll be off to Washington, D.C. and surrounding areas for a little vacation of 9 days, without my family. To visit friends, go to museums and galleries, do lots of sketching. I guess this is a kind of reverse vacation. I mean people come to where I live in northern California wine country from all over the world – lots of Europeans lately because of the exchange rate – for relaxing vacations. But I’m going to the city where I have such fond memories of the 11 years after college, young adulthood, falling in love, going to graduate school, my first professional job as a social worker, living in a residential meditation center. And so I have a long list of friends from this earlier era and floods of memories to revisit. I’ll be staying with my best friend from when I was 13 years old. But I must say, this is the real me – the country girl who is pretty darned content hanging out with the chickens and goats, so I’ll be happy to be home again too, and I’ll be back to check in at Cafe Crem.

-Susan

April 16, 2008 - Posted by | Art

5 Comments »

  1. Happy that you tell all our friends here about your coming vacation. To know where our friends or family are is a very important, basic thing for human. I remember, I was one of the first people in Europa to have a mobile phone and it was funny to hear the reaction of people when I called them. The very first question, by all of them, was:
    “Where are you?”
    I even remember my very first mobile call to my mother: I was sitting in a ski lift, up in the sky in the Alps! It was such a great feeling to speak on the phone with her from up there!
    Your vacation sounds like a very busy time, Susan, and I guess you will need some vacation when you come back home… and your three men at home too! So, who will do the jobs then? 🙂

    What you say about reverse vacation is exactly the same with us. When we go away we say we go in holiday, although the whole world is coming here for their holiday! No more so much because of the money (the prices here gradually reach the ones on the Cote d’ Azur!) but because of the sun and the relaxed atmosphere (they think)
    Well, Susan, I wish you a great time there, I am deeply happy for you to be able to do all these things and to stay with your best friend.
    And… I so much love this photo… Kevin will surely certify you that I look exactly like the goat when he is doing such things at my head… I exactly know what is going on inside the goat at that moment: nothing, except deep pleasure of all senses!

    Comment by Miki | April 16, 2008

  2. HAHA! Miki the goat! Well, her favourite cheese is goat cheese, so I guess there’s a connection, and yes, I only have to massage her head for a few seconds and she gets THAT look on her face!
    I wish you a wonderful trip Susan, don’t forget, we want to see pictures!

    Comment by kevmoore | April 16, 2008

  3. Have a great vacation. Draw lots of sketches to share with us.

    Comment by wrjones | April 16, 2008

  4. Susan. Enjoy your vacation and have lots of fun !

    Comment by anangeli | April 16, 2008

  5. In the dvd special collection for the movie American Gangster the real gangster the movie was based upon was interviewed.
    He said something like if you really want know yourself, go backwards into your life and revisit the milestones and such that you can recall and the people and then come all the way forward to the present in the same way. When you do that you will know yourself so well that there’s nobody that can get in the way of what you are doing in the present. Nobody. Now that’s will power.
    So Susan I guess your going to find out.
    Let us know the results.
    Great photo and you look so happy and love your look.
    /michael

    Comment by Michael | April 16, 2008


Leave a Reply

