Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Getting started

OK, so here’s my confession. And it’s particularly apropos after Kev’s post (which I will read in more detail when I have time!) You see it doesn’t really ever occur to me that people would be interested in hearing about ME, (though Miki assures me that is quite untrue) or even in my opinions about things. My little family, and certainly my two teenage boys do not express much interest at all, probably because they think they know all there is to know. Makes sense.) I do wonder what it would be like to be famous, like Oprah and think that the whole world is interested in you. But I don’t think I’d like that – all that positive and negative attention – all those people thinking they know you. Who is the you that they know? Not the me that I know and am interested in. (Obviously I’m not the performer type and than heaven there are those types in the world!

I have a close friend who’s into astrology and we’re both Pisces of a similar sort. We can easily merge with that ecstatic creative energy of consciousness and are endlessly “entertained” by it. We can also experience that same energy in others most of the time. However, when it comes to being a particular personality in this world and promoting ourselves in some kind of ego way, of marketing our skills or whatever,. . . well it’s hard because in a sense there’s nobody there to market. Other people see “it” but we don’t.

For that reason, here I am, showing up for my CAfe Crem buddies, invisible to myself and hopefully not to you. I just started a painting this morning which I will share with you now because it so speaks to my own process. I actually was just playing around (the ego directed painting rarely works for me), putting some paint and ink down for a background for figure drawing tonight. But I do believe it’s a self portrait.

by Susan

April 10, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, Susan Cornelis' Paintings

8 Comments »

  1. A well -known TV personality who I had the pleasure of being interviewed by some years back, once said “Fame is a hologram”. Albeit simplistic, it is as truer definition as any. You can see it, it looks good, but you can’t really touch it. It doesn’t actually exist. I’ve been lucky enough to experience on rare ocassions that “goldfish bowl” moment, when you can feel people look at you a little differently. It immediately distances you from reality. So, imagine those who achieve mega-fame, and especially at a young age. Is it any wonder the Britneys and the Jackos of this world have finally let slip the slender thread that anchors them to the real world? Fame is a by-product, it doesn’t sy anything about who you are. Susan, you can stand tall bathed in the spotlight of adulation or the grey dusk of obscurity, but you must always stand tall, and tell your tales of who you are and what you do. Because you are important.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 11, 2008

  2. I am convinced that the most personal we write or paint, the truest it is and therefore the most interesting! Of course, it is not true for everybody. Some people have no life, or no thoughts, or no dreams, or no passions and obviously nothing to tell and consequently no relevance for anybody else.
    But YOU, Susan, as Kevin so beautifully said, you are an important person. I don’t care about celebrities, but I care about importance. Everything you say, each single word, every line you draw, every colour you use, is true, special and important. I am sure that with your humility you will think that i exaggerate and that I think all that because you are my friend. But then you have to ask yourself: why are you, especially you, my friend?
    I have no many friends, never had, because 99,99 % of all the people I met were never important enough for me. And I assure you, if you are important for me, you are also important for all the other people who are important for you, and these are the ones for which you should share your words and your art.
    The people in Cafe Crem are important for me, so important! And this is the reason why Cafe Crem itself is so important for me. It is not “just another blog in the world”, as they say, it is a place full of intelligence, talent and kindness… full of wonderful listeners and observers!
    In short: we need you here with me, Susan!

    I said Kevin he should have recorded my laugh as I saw what you call “your self-portrait”. You would have laughed it!b This was the most incredible comment I have ever heard about a painting! You have no idea which pleasure you gave me, as well with the painting as with its title! A good start indeed “your coming out”! 🙂
    You can surely imagine how I am looking at this painting now and trying to find you in each line, shape and colour…
    Thank you so much!

    Comment by Miki | April 11, 2008

  3. Well I am one to think for myself and T. S. Eliot said what I think really matters,

    “You do not know how much they mean to me, my friends,
    And how, how rare and strange it is, to find
    In a life composed so much, so much of odds and ends…
    To find a friend who has these qualities,
    Who has, and gives
    Those qualities upon which friendship lives.” — T.S. Eliot

    Comment by Michael | April 11, 2008

  4. Sigh. Kev, your words are like music. You know my own experience is that when people have put me on a pedestal I feel the most humble inside, and in some ways the most in touch with who I really am. It’s a paradox really. The who that we really are is infinitely great, not terribly small (which is what we fear).

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 11, 2008

  5. Miki, I think that what has happened with you and I is a kind of specific mirroring of those qualities we particularly hold hear in ourselves. It’s a great gift. I think we should spend our lives seeking out the people who can do this for us, the Cafe Cremes, etc as long as they also challenge us enough to keep us moving and learning (as the above also does!) ANd the flip side of that is – why put any energy into the others who can suck the energy right out of you?!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 11, 2008

  6. A wonderful poem Michael! Speaks directly to what I was just writing.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 11, 2008

  7. Well-chosen words, Michael! Susan, thaqnks for your lovely comment- also, your words about wasting energy on those who can suck it out of you, resonate with me. I’m not a one for self-help books, but some years ago, when I was at perhaps my lowest ebb, a friend suggested I read The Celestine Prophecy, which in, and of itself didn’t grab me (I failed to finish it!) but its central premise, concerning the theory that everybody has an aura, some are positive and some negative, and that one should surround oneself with only the positive as they will uplift you and sustain you, as opposed to the negs, who will diminish and weaken you, struck me as a simple truth I had been blind to. I think that was the only thing I took away from the book, but it worked.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 13, 2008

  8. Kev–I read that book a couple years ago (I read too many self-help books, by the way), and I also liked the way it described the energy in people. And it does make a huge difference to avoid the energy-suckers!
    Susan–I love seeing your process, and how you express who you are 🙂 How lovely that we have a positive place like Cafe Crem where we feel comfortable doing that.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 15, 2008


Leave a Reply

