Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Let US talk about US

By Miki

I have taken a new decision. I am sorry, but it is in my unsettled nature to always take new decisions and change things… Three months ago I had decided to change a little bit the concept of Cafe Crem, introducing the monthly themes, and it was good. But in the meanwhile I feel a little bit “stuck” within this concept and I also find it always more difficult to choose a theme. It goes without saying, I guess, that even when one finds a theme interesting, one has not always the time or is not in the mood to make a post, and this leads to a kind of negative feeling, sometimes even frustration.

The last theme having been “God in our lives”, I think it is now time to write about ourselves in our own lives. As we all agree in the past: the best thing in Cafe Crem is its people, and there is for me (and Kevin of course) nothing more important than to get to know each other.

I mean, I don’t really want any more concrete theme in Cafe Crem, I would just like that we all speak about ourselves: what we are doing, what we did in the past, what we plan for the future, what we think, what we dream, where we travel, what we read, what we are listening too, what we hate, what we love, which problems we just have, which paintings we paint, which exhibitions we make, which successes or failures we have, etc… anything which marks our everyday lives and makes them so personal.

As always every kind of contribution is welcome: prose, poetry, photos, music, art, films, etc… And as always, it would be always great to see from time to time some coffee cups here and to read their stories!

And, last but not least: New authors or contributors are welcome in Cafe Crem! As we say in France: “Plus on est de fous plus on rit!” (The more crazy people there are the more we laugh!)

April 6, 2008 - Posted by | Art, coffee, education, family, film, life, love, travel, video, writing

12 Comments »

  1. Good morning Spain.

    Wonderful idea!

    Everything evolves toward a higher Aesthetic, Excellence and Transparency.

    This is my interpretative response to your great idea.

    Yes. Let’s indeed laugh!

    Comment by Michael | April 6, 2008

  2. Good Morning Canada!
    It is a good start, you made me laugh with your “Good morning Spain!”.
    I am happy that you like the new idea and I am curious to read and see what we all want to share about ourselves.
    And laughing, yes, this is for me the healthiest thing in life! I would love to hear all our laughters…

    Comment by Miki | April 6, 2008

  3. hA HAHAHHAHHAHA SPAIN!!!!

    Comment by Michael | April 6, 2008

  4. First I thought, reading the title, we are going to talk about US (United States)…uhuhhh…that’s trouble… passions will sparkle and even fire… but then us, well, that our prefered subject, isn’t it? I even read, as a teenager an old book – in dates from the 30 ties – by Dale Carnegie about how to make others to like you…and one of the I-don’t-know-how-many-methods was to listen carefully to others talking about themselves… The book still is a bestseller and even if it seems kind of simple, it is true… Very good ideea miki!

    Comment by iondanu | April 6, 2008

  5. Danu! I remember that book! And of course I’ve forgotten all those great lessons 🙂 But listening sounds like a great place to start.

    Lovely idea, Miki!

    Oh, wait…I think I feel a coffee cup drawing coming on….

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 6, 2008

  6. I am so glad that you all like my idea! And in fact, we all need to speak about ourselves, and we all need to be listened. For my part I always deeply enjoy listening to ANYBODY, as long as the persons I am listening too are sincere and honest about what they tell. And of course when these persons are my friends, like in Cafe Crem, then the pleasure of listening to them is even deeper. One never learns so much about life and the universe as listening to the nature, and to the creatures which live within.
    So, my friends and all the other ones too, my ears (well, my eyes!) are wide open for you!

    Comment by Miki | April 6, 2008

  7. Talking about ourselves sounds good and can we also add – no complaining, no ranting and raving? I don’t mean that we can’t talk about problems, but please to keep the levity, the humor. Is that OK?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 6, 2008

  8. Of course it is OK, Susan, no moaning, no complaining, no ranting and raving (although I have to ask Kevin what these 2 last words mean!)!

    Comment by Miki | April 7, 2008

  9. What she means Susan is its ME that must promise not to rant and rave! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | April 7, 2008

  10. Now Kevin, you know I love to hear your stories, so I don’t want you to feel entrapped by this “no ranting or raving” comment. I can of course look the other way if my sensitivity needs it. If you were closer I would probably just give you a good poke if you got into that groove! or ask Miki to come up with a “honey do” list for you. Do you have honey do lists in England?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | April 8, 2008

  11. Haha! My “ranting and raving” as Miki will tell you, is largely theatrical and is my way of blowing off steam, you know the kind of thing, shouting at Spanish drivers, complaining about shoddy workmanship ( I feel a kind of kinship with Bill in this behaviour) But, you have my curiosity piqued; what on earth is a honey do list? It sounds like a whole load of work to me!

    Comment by kevmoore | April 8, 2008

  12. Great! Love it! 😉

    Comment by supersizeme | April 8, 2008


Leave a Reply

