Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Wake up little Suzie, It’s your birthday!

Good morning Susan, I wanted to kick your birthday off with a bang, so I racked my brain trying to think of a song I could perform for you with “Susan” in the title, and this is what I came up with! it’s nothing like Don and Phil’s version, of course, but I hope you like it. Happy Birthday!!!

Kev Moore

“Wake up little Susie ” arranged, produced and performed by Kev Moore

written by Don and Phil Everly , with additional new lyrics by Kev Moore

March 13, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Entertainment, events, fun, Music, personal, photo, random, women, writing | , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Right on Kev.
    Susie is going to love this.
    You are the man my friend.
    And a compassionate and wonderfully grounded guy who gives and gives and gives.
    I wonder if there is a relationship to being a musician and unconditional love and compassion?

    Comment by Michael | March 13, 2008

  2. Wowowow… shame I cant hear the song as im in an office full of snooty colleagues.. I’ll crank it up when I get home.. what I can see now though is a Les Paul guitar??? am I right?

    Comment by supersizeme | March 13, 2008

  3. I’m afraid you’re wrong on both counts Supe! its not a Les Paul (named after the multitracking guitar geniusof yesteryear) nor, is it a guitar. that particular one is a 5 string bass, made for me by Fernandes of Japan, my friend and occasional collaborator Graham Oliver arranged for it when I was touring with him in his version of SAXON. I still use it for most UK appearances of BC Sweet.

    Comment by kevmoore | March 13, 2008

  4. @michael; you’re too kind mate. I just love the fact that I’m able to do this. making music makes me happy, and if it makes someone ELSE happy too, then I’m doubly blessed. 🙂

    @supe: snooty colleagues?? get it cranked up girl, and rock those muthas!!!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 13, 2008

  5. I don´t even know what a Les Paul guitar is!!!! Is it something important?
    And a bass is not a guitar?
    And who is anyway this bloody Fernandes of Japan?
    What an arrogance, this Kev Moore, really!

    Comment by Miki | March 13, 2008

  6. Oh God, I forgot to say:
    well-done Kevin!
    But I am not sure: is Susan awake now, or not?

    Comment by Miki | March 13, 2008

  7. Yes! Susan is awake and rockin her little booty, groovin to the tunes of my very favorite rock musician! And you know the kindest, most generous thing of all about Kevin? He makes me 21 in this song. I love it! That’s true compassion to take (ahem) number of years off a woman’s age!

    Dont’ look now Miki. Big kiss for you Kev!

    Comment by Susan | March 14, 2008

  8. Hahaha.. shouldn’t eavesdrop during such ‘above’ liasons..

    Of course its bass.. gaahh.. dang! How could I miss the strings?
    All my ‘pretend’ guitar knowledge is out the window now, I’ll have to start again, but I should say it is confusing, with that shiny red polish.. you cant blame me now?

    The song was a corker btw! 😉

    Comment by supersizeme | March 14, 2008

  9. On a bad night, I occasionally miss the strings too, Saj! Perhaps I should do a small series on guitar designs…in fact, you’ve got me thinking..I might do a series on all the different basses I’ve had through the years. Might be fun, if only to laugh at my changing hairstyles!! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | March 14, 2008

  10. @Susan – glad you love the song, and happy to have been a part of your special day – hope you had a good one!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 14, 2008

  11. Oh and Supe…a tip in recognising Les pauls is that alwayshave a single cutaway beneath the neck, not two like my bass.
    Trivia fans: For the terminally inquisitive- the “wake up” choir sample used at the beginiing and end of the track is taken from the song”Wake Up” by XTC, one of my favourite bands. the nice thing is, our drummer in BC Sweet, Pete Phipps, was the drummer on that track and the album from which it came! If you want to check out just how good our Pete is, watch this:

    Comment by kevmoore | March 14, 2008

  12. I think I could do with that Kev, its atrocious how I’m doing music journalism and cant tell the difference between bass and guitar

    Comment by supersizeme | March 14, 2008

  13. I promise not to laugh at your hair..
    I mean I wont type ‘hahahaha”

    Thanks Kev, appreciate all the help in this area I could get, its like I was desribing a song and said ‘it has a gothic sound’ and I was laughed at, as its a punk-rock sound.. haha!

    Comment by supersizeme | March 14, 2008

  14. If you want to laugh though wihtout Kevin noticing it, you can tip “hihihihi”, this is the way how we laugh in France… as his French knowledge is quite small, he won´t get it!

    Comment by Miki | March 15, 2008

  15. Never doubt the resourcefulness of a man who is intent on understanding what you woman are up to. I am with you Kev on this one.!!! And since Miki has already revealed the French way she has in fact given us a clue!!!!

    Comment by Michael | March 15, 2008

  16. So, Supe, and indeed everybody, I have begun my series about my bass guitars. the first instalment is up and viewable at http://kevmoore.wordpress.com – otherwise known as The Muse on the Rock!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 15, 2008

  17. Great song, Kev! I wish I’ll be able to sing like you do… seems a great manner to blow steam! (I mean to let out pressure…) Painting, if you just have a small workshop and you have to take care not to smudge the walls and floor etc. is a lot more lent and constraining…

    Comment by iondanu | March 15, 2008

  18. You’re right of course Danu! You can really let it all out when you sing and perform, especially with a lot of the rock stuff I do. (But here in our apartment, I can’t go quite as crazy recording my voice as in my studio at the other house!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 15, 2008


Leave a Reply

