Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

And I don´t chase all the birds…

By Le Petit Prince


Dear Susan,

As I told you before, I will stay one day more on Earth and visit you tomorrow with Miki on board a Croc-Air flight. It was very kind of you to invite me.
And as I told you, I fancy a lot one of your chickens, the grey one with the white spots, was her name Zoé? I went shopping with Miki that morning and we bought a beautiful suit for me, and a tie, and shoes, and I chose everything carefully, beautifully matching to Zoe´s plumage. I had even some sun, and I look quite awesome now with my little tan.
Because you know, if she fancies me too, I would love to spend my life with her and have the intention to ask you for her claw in marriage. I am a good catch, you know, I own a whole planet, and a sheep, and a rose. And I am famous in the whole world! And I don´t chase all the birds!

The Little Prince in a Suit
March 13, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Art, Cafe L'Arte, friends, humor, life, literature, love, Miki's Paintings, personal, random, travel | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. This thread of paintings and Le Petti Prince reminds me of a movie I watched last night, Neverwas.

    See the synopsis and clip here: http://tinyurl.com/248cch
    or
    Google it

    Comment by Michael | March 13, 2008

  2. looks like an interesting movie Michael. This in turn, has reminded me of a book by Neil Gaiman, called “Neverwhere” which is about a dark, alternate reality set in London.
    Check it out:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0115288/

    It was made into an extended TV movie, which I’ve yet to see, but it makes full use of the Londonisms we all take for granted, presuming for example, that in the alternate reality, there really IS an Angel in Islington!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 13, 2008

  3. Dear Le Petit Prince,

    Your new attire is truly fit for a monarch! We are quite distracted this evening, Zoe and I , getting ready for the arrival of a famous personage like yourself. Three times now she has asked to see your picture again and each time she squawks loudly once and hops up in my lap, quivering in anticipation. Three times she’s had her dirt bath (that’s how chickens get clean you know – they burrow in the dirt, and amazingly it really works)

    And her sisters are all quite green with envy. I mean, do you know any other princes on nearby planets who may be looking for a hen princess?

    I’m sure there will be no sleep for any of the girls tonight. So come early! Don’t keep us waiting or we shall melt in a puddle of nerves!

    Love, Susan (and Zoe)

    Comment by Susan | March 14, 2008

  4. You look like $10000 worth of nickels.

    Comment by wrjones | March 14, 2008

  5. So funny, Susan! I really can imagine all these things as if they would really happen, and totally enjoy them! Who said I am not a dreamer?
    I guess if we explore a little bit the universe we will surely find some other planets with princesses wanted… anyway it might be time to give the little prince some brothers and sisters!

    Comment by Miki | March 14, 2008

  6. @Kev. Checked it out. Now I got to see if the video store here can get it in here for me. I once started reading a great auto biography A Movable Feast, Hemingway, and every one in that book was a ‘real’ person so I hunted down each biography of everyone mentioned in the book and that took me on a journey where I learned so much. The accumulated knowledge of all these books I read formed kind of a tree with branches. You get this as metaphor. Thanks.

    Comment by Michael | March 15, 2008

  7. […] may be “Good God! What is that fat chicken doing on Cafe Crem? But this is about that meeting of le petit prince – remember how suave he looked after Miki dressed him up for his meeting with the Zoey the chicken? […]

    Pingback by Zoey meets Le Petit Prince « Café Crem: “God in Our Life” | March 20, 2008


Leave a Reply

