Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Dear God….

Firstly, I should nail my colours to the mast and state that I am not a believer in God. I like to think I started out with a healthy cynicism, as evidenced by my dissatisfaction with the answers I was given in Sunday school when I asked how it was possible that Moses could part the red sea. “Just have faith” mooned the limp Sunday school teacher with a scary beatific smile. That cynicism hardened into distaste as I saw the Catholic churches, dripping with gold and finery, dispensing archaic and outdated wisdom on their destitute congregations. It became an impenetrable rock as I watched my friend’s Father die on Christmas Eve, barely making 40, another schoolfriend’s sister, one of the most popular girls in school, wiped out before her sixteenth birthday in a car crash. Finally, when my Mother died at 52, I’d had it completely. When I looked around and saw the evil that continued to to thrive unpunished, and good men, women and children scythed down for no good reason, I wept bitter tears. What kind of benevolent God allows this? How dare he send these things to test us! I don’t need to hear all the “suffer the little children ” crap either. Of course, the irony is that, as my Mother was dying, I think she was trying to find God, although she’d never been religious. You see, my belief is that, in times of crises and doubt, the human condition is such that one needs to make sense of it all, and a supreme being is a way of trying to get these thoughts, these questions in order, and a long, long time ago, wiser, greedier men than most saw in this an opportunity to subjugate the masses. Think of the evil that has been done in this God’s name. Think of the lives that have been taken. Oh!, but no! Say the religious types, not in his name! It’s bloody great if you’re God isn’t it? Unquestioning obedience, never have to show yourself, never take the blame (don’t come with Jesus dying for our sins…he sent his only son!! he didn’t even have the balls to do it himself!)

Of course, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, talking about him, even refuting his existence, actually has the same effect as the bible-thumpers, it almost legitimises him, when the best course is probably to ignore the subject altogether. I think it’s that ever-so-slightly detectable air of superiority, of having the moral high ground that emanates from many Christians that irritates me. Of course, even that’s preferable to the loony high ground occupied by the Islamic extremists . I just can’t help it. When I visit America, and see the swathe TV evangelist shows that break out over the network like a rash, I shudder inside. Does that make me the devil? I don’t think so. I believe I am a good person, who like most, hasn’t always done the right thing, but who tries to get better through life. I don’t need some old dude with a beard to “show me the way” (unless its Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top, who plays some inspiring guitar) – No, I have a moral compass. It doesn’t come from the bible, it doesn’t come from Sunday school. It comes from within.

That said, I completely recognise the right for each person to follow their own path, and if it works for you, then fine. My musical hero, Glenn Hughes, was saved from certain death at the hands of drugs by his newly discovered faith some years ago. Because of that, he’s still around making music. I concede, and am thankful, that it worked for him.

As usual , music says it best. This song, by one of my all-time favourite bands, XTC, really captures my anger and frustration, and in the end, demonstrates the final irony, for why is he talking to someone who doesn’t exist?

Kev Moore

March 12, 2008 - Posted by | Art, culture, death, God in our life, life, men, Music, religion, video, women, writing | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Rich, interesting and intriguing post, Kev! I liked the music a lot (the video clip) and I’m totally with you when you say: “music says it best”! ‘ve just listen for some Bob Marley songs, and some Supertramp (one of my favourite band – but I still have to listen to more of your music!) and you did wake up a lot of questions I also asked myself…

    And I will search for ZZTop (I kind of have an image in my mind: a fat, beardy bicker? funny?) and Glenn Hughes… man, I tell you one thing: the Amercians and Canadians have some good songwriters and bands (Leonard Cohen, for one) but since the 50ties, the best comes from the British Islands…

    Comment by iondanu | March 13, 2008

  2. I think there’s only one place to find “God” and that’s within your own heart. You can exhaust yourself with your anger and disbelief and outrage about the injustices of religion and the pain of human existence and get not one step closer to knowing That, because it can’t be known except in the experience of Love.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | March 13, 2008

  3. @danu: I released an independent CD a year or two back featuring a lot of Marley stuff, called “One Moore reggae for the road” . He wrote so many great tracks. I may post my version of one of them up here one day. In the meantime, have you heard “chant down Babylon’? Its a recent marley album where theyve taken his vocals and “recorded” him with contemporary artists such as lauryn hill, erykah badu and even Aerosmith. the results are great, showing how relevant his music still is today. Supertramp released some classics, great band. ZZ Top are a great texan 3 piece, who , against all reason became one of the hottest bands of the 80’s their two front men, bassist dusty hill and guitarist billy gibbons (portly and thin respectively) sport the most magnificent beards. their drummer, however , favours a hairless chin. his name? frank beard!! you couldnt make it up!! check out their album “tres hombres” for their classic sound. regarding vocalists, I would have to say the brits rule in the rock world…paul rogers, robert plant, ian gillan, david coverdale, glenn hughes, freddie mercury, the list goes on…

    @susan: wise words. the search for inner peace makes so much more sense to me than the search for a supreme being.

    Comment by kevmoore | March 13, 2008

  4. I ‘m so glad we are here together! I learn so many things otherwise would have been left out forever…

    Comment by iondanu | March 13, 2008


Leave a Reply

