Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Disrobing practices

If I had a bit more time I’d illustrate this, but here goes. How do you take off a T-shirt? (THis is not a joke like How many so- and -so’s does it take to take off a T-shirt?) I know of only one way, which is to cross my arms across my front, grab the bottom hem and pull it over my head. THe males in my family are amazed and would never think to do it that way. Somehow they manage also to successfully undress in a very different fashion which involves rolling the hem up over their elbows first, and then lifting? It makes no sense to me. It’s got to be a brain wiring difference, or is it just me? How do you, you know, undress?

-Susan

March 5, 2008 - Posted by | culture, Vive le difference, women

8 Comments »

  1. Hi Susan, How funny! My husband crosses his hands behind his neck and pulls up and over from behind!

    Comment by psychscribe | March 5, 2008

  2. Susan..two fav ways…a) someone else..ahem..pulls them off for me 😉 or b) just like you, by crossing my hands at the front, grab the hem and pull it over my head.

    Comment by Hanie | March 5, 2008

  3. Very funny comment, Hanie!
    I have no ideas how I do it myself, but I am pretty sure that I don´t cross my hands for it!
    But Kevin is crossing his hands, and more: he always splays the 6 remaining fingers doing that, and it looks incredibly funny! But in fact I guess he wants it to look sexy… 🙂

    Comment by Miki | March 5, 2008

  4. It’s actually 8 fingers, miki! I hook my two thumbs in the shirt, cross-handed. (I just had to practice to see exactly how I did it!)
    Miki however is so tiny that she removes her T-shirts with tweezers….

    Comment by kevmoore | March 5, 2008

  5. I am not So tiny! I am 160 cm high… well to be honest: 159,5 cm.
    And I will never remove my T-Shirts again, Kevin!

    Comment by Miki | March 5, 2008

  6. It depends on what kind of shirt I’m wearing. Some shirts compel me to retract my arms inside the shirt and then lift–gather material upwards towards the neck & then lift off head.

    Come to think of it, I think I remove all non-button-down shirts this way.

    This entry reminds me of an exercise I did in a dance class during college called Movement Improvisation. We talked about pedestrian activities–things we do daily and without thinking (teeth brushing, sitting up, walking etc) and the different ways one can do them. For instance, sitting on the floor and then getting up to a standing position. There are all sorts of ways.

    After that class, I’d experience moments where I wanted to get up from a seated or other reclined position but then I’d think about how i was going to do it—and then I couldn’t, as though my brain-body connection was put on pause.

    Comment by sittingpugs | March 5, 2008

  7. oh yes, when we start watching at ourselves executing the everyday reflexive movements of life, we become quite paralysed.
    And I noticed that when one is made aware of one of these, one can never again perform it in the same natural manner.
    For example I read once that men and women close their fists in different ways, and since then I always consciously observe my hand when making a fist! (not that I´m naturally aggressive, you understand!)

    Comment by Miki | March 5, 2008

  8. Yeah its like what we do subconsciously..

    Comment by supersizeme | March 7, 2008


Leave a Reply

