Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Don´t cry for me Andalucia…

By Miki & Kevin

After girding our collective loins to make the long trip into Almeria City for some music spares for me, and some prospective sketching in public for Miki, we were devastated to discover that today, 28th. February (my son´s birthday) was also Andalucia Day, and a Public Holiday here in that part of Spain that gave the world Flamenco.

The shops, of course were closed. It´s pretty hard to find them open in Spain on a normal day, but on a public holiday-forget it. Add to this the fact that it´s not a tourist city, and the very few pavement cafes that there are, sit resolutely in the shade like immovable hippopotami. So cafe-sans-soleil was all we were getting.

What brightened the day somewhat though, was the peculiar gatherings of same-sex peformers up and down the paseo de mediterraneo, the wide, tree-lined boulevard that bisects this sprawling southern city.

As you can see from the pictures, mindful of our theme, the boys wore blue and the girls wore pink!

Andalucia Day in Almeria Boys

Andalucia Day in Almeria Girls
February 29, 2008 - Posted by | Art, culture, events, life, men, Music, photo, travel, Vive le difference, women, writing | , , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Birthday wishes and holiday wishes!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 29, 2008

  2. However, I would have to say that the blue you are referring to is in fact more a purple, and in my neck of the woods purple is a decidedly girl color. (not to mention the long robes with pink trim.) These guys are gay, right?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | March 1, 2008

  3. Mmmm…purple…well, it didn’t do Prince any harm – Wendy, Lisa, Appollonia, Mayte, Sheena Easton..the list goes on, so although he looks a bit gay, I guess he’s probably not!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 1, 2008

  4. Kev & Miki, why are you doing this to me!? Palms, the Mediteraneean!? Here we had yesterday minus 28! Damn! I wish Spain and France took immigrants were I decided to immigrate…

    Comment by iondanu | March 1, 2008

  5. Hey Danu, we have many people from Romania right now in Spain… and… is it too late for you to reimmigrate? Read my post “Jump” about it in my blog…

    Comment by Miki | March 1, 2008

  6. I will read it, miki… As for immigrating to Spain: I’m too old to pick strawberies and I don’t know if they really nead one more poor artist…

    Comment by iondanu | March 2, 2008

  7. And I wouldn´t like to see you picking strawberries either! By the way: where we live they don´t pick strawberries but oranges, and olives, and almonds, and “nisperos”…
    But most men coming from Romania works as waiters or builders, and they always get a job, because we have an infinite amount of bars and restaurants, and they build properties like crazy!

    But what they need in Spain for sure is good artists and good art teachers!!!! We have so many people painting, most of them have never learned it, and there are really not many art teachers here, not even bad ones!

    Comment by Miki | March 2, 2008

  8. I’ll start to learn Spanish (I did learn some waching Inaritu movies, like Amores Perros but they were mostly the bad, ugly words in it…) …I wanted to do it anyway because Mexic is not a bad option for an artist either… and it’s warm (even hot) too… Vaya con dios!

    Comment by iondanu | March 3, 2008

  9. I have been in Mexico about 30 years ago and I really loved it there! If it has not changed too much, then it is surely a great place to live, for a painter too! I dream to go back there, and we will surely do one day… we almost went to Yucatan this winter, but at the end we couldn´t… another time, sure!

    Comment by Miki | March 3, 2008

  10. well. well. I t looks like everyone is missing the wram weather and style of life. You will not feel like that when your respective summers come where you live. Be patient. As for me I am heading to a tropical island on the 11th. Cold is good, for a while, as change. Then we say “please, go away soon”. That’s life.

    Comment by anangeli | March 3, 2008

  11. My Dad used to tell me a rhyme as a child;

    “Man is a fool – when it’s hot he wants it cool
    When it’s cool he wants it hot…
    Always wanting what it’s not!”

    Comment by kevmoore | March 3, 2008

  12. Nice to see you reaching out to Danu, Miki.
    He should go to Spain. Why not Danu? One move and you change the complete dynamics of your life.
    I envy that in expats.
    And Kev you’re always there with a pint and a joke. Ha ha!!!

    Comment by Michael | March 3, 2008

  13. Kev, your father was wise and observant…

    Michael: well, relative liberty come with a price: you cannot have that AND money… For money you have to consume TIME and sacrifice your liberty… Those who inherited it or earn it at lottery can have, maybe, both… but I not one of them…

    Miki: I wish you to got to Mexico, with Kevin, of course… You can stop in quebec maybe, on the way…

    Anageli: Yo u are a happy one… I just listen to Bob Marley… Jamaica, rum, pot… eh…

    Comment by iondanu | March 4, 2008

  14. @Anangeli
    I love Bob Marley,,, did you know that Kevin is a gret reggae singer? He sometimes includes a reggae part in his solo shows, playing the bass at the same time as singing… it is great! You all should come to Spain and listen to him, his new solo gig is in 10 days!
    Are you putting yourself in the right mood for the tropical island?

    @Danu
    One day, and this is for certain, we will come to Canada. And see you. We have anyway the idea/dream of a big Cafe Crem meeting one day… it would be so cool!!!
    By the way: with all the languages you know, you would make a great language teacher too here. Where we normally live (we are at the moment at Kevin´s flat) there are children of 40 nationalities in the local school…

    @Danu
    With our artist profession, we are very close to the perfect profession. If we can live from it, it assures us a great freedom, more than in any other profession, I think. That summer, as we had the big 10 weeks trip to Scotland, people on the way were wondering and asking:
    “Don´t you work anymore?”
    and I answered:
    “Oh yes I do… and travelling like that I can do my job even better!”
    Many people envied us!
    The problem of course is the little “if” at the beginning of the sentence…
    I hope, Danu, that the internet one day will help you to live better from your art, as you totally deserve it.

    Comment by Miki | March 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

