Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Pink, to make the boys wink!

By Miki

Blue and Red Coffee Cups

This morning, we were sitting in our favourite cafe by the beach, under the Spanish sun -yeah, it´s back!- having a big creamy cafe con leche, donuts from paradise… Kevin reading, me sketching people … life was great!

While I was sketching I was thinking of our wonderful Cafe Crem, how it started, and of all of you, the authors, and I suddenly felt the urge to buy 2 new coffee cups! I instantaneously abandoned my sketch book and Kevin and ran to the nearest pottery shop. Quite automatically, without thinking, I chose a blue cup for Kevin, a red one for me. On the way back I was thinking:

“Here we are again… the difference between men and women… the colours!”

In fact, from the moment we are born, we are stigmatized with colours corresponding to our sex: blue for boys, pink for girls. Has somebody an idea where this comes from? Why are these colours associated with girls and boys? I would be very interested in any theory about it…

Concerning myself I can definitively say that I much more prefer warm colours, red, orange, yellow, pink… and most of the men I met preferred the cold colours, blue especially.

How is it with you? And with the persons you know?

February 27, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, culture, friends, life, men, Miki's Paintings, personal, random, Vive le difference, women | , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. I love this painting Miki, such an immediate, bright illusion of simplicity! …..and the subject, a great one! it’s just accepted isn’t it? pink for girls, blue for boys. why indeed? the gay movement often hijack “pink” to identify a particular event or rally..this confuses the issue further…does this mean they are celebrating femininity, or reclaiming pink in a masculine way? Lets look at music and culture: female gangs called the “Pink ladies”, a female singer called “pink”, a boy band called “blue” a male pop band from the 70’s called “blue”. yet madonna had a hit with a song called “true blue” and the hero of the film “the wall” a tortured male character was called “pink.” okay, you may say, thats because the band who wrote the wall was pink floyd, but they had taken it from the names of two Georgia bluesmen Pink Anderson and Floyd Council !! I think i’ll have a lie down….

    Comment by kevmoore | February 27, 2008

  2. …I thought I should add this homage to Pink by posting some highlights from the Aerosmith song of the same name, written by the inimitable, one and only Steven Tyler:

    Pink it´s my new obsession
    Pink it´s not even a question
    Pink on the lips of your lover, ´cause
    Pink is the love you discover
    Pink as the bing on your cherry
    Pink ´cause you are so very
    Pink it´s the color of passion
    `Cause today it just goes with the fashion
    Pink it was love at first sight, yea
    Pink when I turn out the light, and
    Pink gets me high as a kite
    And I think everything is going to be all right

    You could be my flamingo
    ´Coz pink is the new kinda lingo
    Pink like a deco umbrella
    It´s kink – but you don´t ever tell her

    I want to be your lover
    I wanna wrap you in rubber
    As pink as the sheets that we lay on
    Pink is my favorite crayon, yeah

    okay, anyone written one about blue???

    Comment by kevmoore | February 27, 2008

  3. miki i don’t know where the pink/blue thing comes from, but i do envy you and kevin out there in the spanish sun! ah..what a life! enjoy!

    Comment by psychscribe | February 27, 2008

  4. P.S. I forgot to mention that i love the painting, but then again, I love everything you do 🙂

    Comment by psychscribe | February 27, 2008

  5. Great little painting, Miki! But what kind of paper you use? That texture is awesome!?

    No idea where the pink/blue thing come from… probably arbitrary?

    If I had the money I would fly to Spain right away! to see the sun again (well, south of France will do also… even Italy or Greece…) I’m looking out my window at about 1 m of snow, whirled by a bloody windstorm… I want to cry on a pink pillow but I don’t have but a blue one… and I see we have 2 hits to 11000! Not bad! We must celebrate!

    Comment by iondanu | February 27, 2008

  6. Yeah, 11,000 + , its going well! Don’t envy your weather there, Danu, and what with supersize telling us of an Earthquake in the UK last night, we feel pretty lucky right now here in Spain!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 27, 2008

  7. Hahaha.. good one Miki,
    If you read the nature vs nurture post here, you’ll see I posted a similar comment about this.

    I hate pink, I can bear it in teeny portions though, and I love blue, all shades of blue from the palest sky blue to the darkest midnight blue!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 27, 2008

  8. .. otherwise I’m a girly girl, but just not completely girly.. if that makes sense

    Comment by supersizeme | February 27, 2008

  9. Wow!!! What a beautiful painting Miki.

    It really caught my attention and had to write to tell you. The colors lifted my spirits and brightened my day.

    Kindest,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | February 27, 2008

  10. Well I do have a thought about the warm/cool dichotomy. My experience is that women are more light seeking and men are cave dwellers. At least in my family that’s true (although my husband loves warm colors). I mean the males in my house would never bother opening the curtains or even notice they weren’t letting light in.

    WHat’s interesting to me is that it’s OK for a woman/girl to wear/have blue but it’s so not OK for a straight guy to wear pink, at least in my neck of the woods.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | February 28, 2008

  11. @Susan
    Great theory! My father seems to be a cave dweller too, he always leaves the curtains and shutters closed! By the way, i did it too when I was an adolescent, I hated light coming inside the house, and I got always a lot of trouble with my mother because of that. But as soon as I was alone, I shut everything again!!!!
    We have straight men wearing pink in Europe. I saw some wearing pink shirts and I must say that it looked very handsome, not feminine at all. Lacoste for example is making wonderful pink shirts for men…

    @Michael
    Hi! Always nice to see you back in Cafe Crem! Thanks you for the kind words about the cups painting. It was a very fast sketch, and like often, fast sketches are more lively than normal paintings, becasue they are more spontaneous I guess… I hope you are fine.

    @ Supe
    I LOVE PINK! Almost all my stuff, which is not black, is pink! Even my headphones are pink… they are so cool! Kevin brought them back for me from the UK some weeks ago…
    And I have pink shoes, and pink boots, and a big pink fleece, and pink baseball caps from The Isle of Skie and east Midlands Airport, pink D&G sunglasses, and a pink Playboy purse, and a pink sport Animal wallet, and a ping handbag, and of course a lot of pink tops, and a pink anorak, and a pink heart, and even a pink soul!
    And I forgot: socks with pink bubbles!

    @Danu
    It is painted on structured wallpaper.
    I don´t believe the colours blue and pink are arbitrary. I will make some research about it. Susan´s explanation seems a good approach to me. Which colours do YOU prefer?

    @Psyche
    If I could I would send you lots of sun!!!
    And thanks for the compliments, always great to read some!!!

    Comment by Miki | February 28, 2008

  12. Beautiful painting.

    I like pastel colors. When I was a teenager I liked to smoke a brand of cigarettes named Vanity Fair because of the light blue, green and pink papers.

    Due to the constraints of society I’ve had to makeup for the attaction to pastel colors by wearing cowboy boots, spurs, and carrying a gun. That, of course, was ruined by Brokeback Mountain. Now I wear a hocky uniform and skates. It is damn hard to walk through a mall on those things.

    Comment by wrjones | February 28, 2008

  13. Beautiful painting, Miki! Interesting topic…my favorite color was blue growing up, and now it’s Nicole’s favorite. I think Matthew likes black, but he changes his mind a lot. I used to avoid pink at all costs, but I’d have to say I like pink better now. It kept coming up in my art just recently. The past few years I’ve had trouble with blue…I can’t even drink out of my blue coffee cup.

    Just some thoughts…Oh, and I think men can look very sexy in pink, even straight men 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 28, 2008

  14. To answar your question about colors, miki, I think I do not have a definite preference for a definite color… I’m more into mood color preference: some times I like blues and violet, other times red and orange and yellow… It depends on the mood… I was thinking something like structured wallpaper, yes… do you do it souvent?

    Bill, to counter the Brokeback Mountain damage I suggest you look at All those pretty horses (after Cormac McCarthy) or even some very strong and true western like Open Range (Kevin Costner’s film)…

    Comment by iondanu | March 1, 2008


Leave a Reply

