Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The bride becomes the groom

499085906_9bff80a1a1.jpg

I was watching a TV drama on a Pakistani sky channel, and watching a part where a girl comes home to visit her mum, the day after her wedding, and she’s talking of how disappointed she is with the ideot she married and says ”times have changed, the bride has become the groom, she takes home the man as her ”bride” and lifts up his veil to reveal the true identity of the man she married”.

On the wedding night, the couple share an-age-old tradition where the man bestows an expensive gift upon his new bride and drops a couple of rehearsed cheesy poems, so that she can allow him to life up her veil and reveal her ”beautiful” face, in most cases the poor guy has a fright when his bride is err.. not so beautiful. Back in the day, there were a lot of arranged marriages where the couple never saw each other pre-marriage nuptials, I’m glad its an OLD tradition, I could never imagine it working out now!

But, my point was, I think that TV script hit home. Women are far more ”manlier” and I know many, that brought their own houses prior to getting married, so their husbands can live there with them and we all work so we can provide for ourselves (and maybe him too), so really, I think she was on to something. Of course there are always exceptions.   

February 20, 2008 - Posted by | culture, life

23 Comments »

  1. I love the new order. Women should take care of us financially and keep up with the house work of course.

    I can visualize some woman taking me home to show the parents. The conversation would go something like this, “What the hell have you done? Have you been hit in the head?”. “But, mom, look he is almost bald. I won’t have to worry about him shedding hair all over the furniture.”

    Comment by wrjones | February 20, 2008

  2. Bill, I am always in awe of your logic.

    Comment by kevmoore | February 20, 2008

  3. Hahaha.. I second Kev!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 20, 2008

  4. I wonder what it would be like to see a man ”barefoot and pregnant, in the kitchen”

    Comment by supersizeme | February 20, 2008

  5. Bill, you are too funny!!!

    Comment by psychscribe | February 20, 2008

  6. Supe, that’s one hell of a scary image! in fact , it reminds me of terry jones from monty python, dressed as a woman, in the movie “the meaning of life” where, as a wife in the yorkshire slums, he gives birth to “her” 25th kid on the kitchen floor, and carries on doing the dishes!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 20, 2008

  7. Didn’t u see the movie with Arnold pregnant? (and Danny de vito?) Schwarzenneger was pretty funny in that one! Better role than governor of California!

    Comment by iondanu | February 20, 2008

  8. Oh.. I need to watch that Kev, I’ll note down that movie’s name and then watch it during a girly night in and we’ll have a rip-roaring good laugh!!

    Oh yess.. Danu I’ve seen Twins, I’m sure its twins, yes and I much prefer a mumsy Arnie in a nightie too, so much more people-friendly than a boring politician.

    Comment by supersizeme | February 20, 2008

  9. Is that a typical Pakistani bride dress on the photo, Supe? Looks great, better than ours I find.
    Strange, at a first glance, i didn´t find the image “scary” at all, as Kevin says. I found the woman and the dress simply beautiful!
    This is, I guess, a good example of difference between men and women: our perception of “things”, and especially of the other sex!!!! 🙂

    Comment by Miki | February 21, 2008

  10. Thanks Miki, yes it is, pastels are more popular these days than the red and fuschsia’s they used to wear in my mums time, maybe cos pastels arent so aggressive?

    HAHA! Kev wasnt talking about that image though, as much as it’d be fun to have a male vs female match, he was on abt my comment above…

    Comment by supersizeme | February 21, 2008

  11. I am so thick sometimes, am I not? Kevin told me then that he was not referring to the photo!

    It must ne nice in pastel colours… I don´t like at all the white of our bride dresses… i wore one one day… I really looked like a fallen angel, totally lost on earth and in my new wife position!!!

    Comment by Miki | February 21, 2008

  12. Sigh, Miki, call it a case of ”grass is greener” but I prefer the white wedding gowns and all that romance!
    Im sure you looked beautiful!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 21, 2008

  13. Miki,

    I was under the impression that wedding dresses in Spain were RED! When did that change?

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | February 23, 2008

  14. well, i’ve got a daughter getting married in september, and here in the states if you’re into tradition white or ivory is the way we go…even when i got married a second time, with2 kids, i did not of course wear the traditinal wedding dress, but i did wear an ivory 2 piece suit with an outragous white hat with wide brim and feather – berfore you barf, that was back in the eighies and i fancied i looked like joan collins on Dynasty…and before you barf again i was told i did look like her that day!!!!

    Comment by psychscribe | February 24, 2008

  15. Psych, please tell me, did you have the outrageous shoulder pads? you HAVE to have the shoulder pads to do a Dynasty!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 24, 2008

  16. Oh yeah, the 80s are back in fashion and the whole David Bowie glam rock thing is going to be all the rage this summer, fancy a new glam rock wardrobe Kev?
    Glittery suit jackets, and va va va voom shoulder pads and get your hairspray out!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 25, 2008

  17. @ Madame Monet
    As far as I know wedding dresses in Spain are white… why do you think they are red?
    But anyway, I am French, and I married a German man … both in France and in Germany wedding dresses are white.

    Comment by Miki | February 25, 2008

  18. Yeah I’ve never heard of them being in any other colour either, white to err.. off-white … like ivory, cream etc, or there are those that make like Jordan (pin up girl) and wear a full on diamante’d fluffy sugar pink gown and ride in a tacky cinderella carriage!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 25, 2008

  19. Kev, yes, in 1987 of course I had shoulder pads 🙂 And sequeins all over the place!

    Comment by psychscribe | February 26, 2008

  20. I think Jordan rode in a “pumpkin ” Cinderella carriage to symbolise that she was marrying a vegetable! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | February 26, 2008

  21. @psyche: Even I had shoulder pads in some of my stage wear in the 80’s and NO, I’m not posting any pictures!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 26, 2008

  22. Yeah she married a lard-fried greasy chip!
    She’s the accompanying sausage roll!
    They’re very classy together, you see! Haha!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 26, 2008

  23. Kev please????Pretty please???? With sugar on top?????

    Comment by psychscribe | February 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

