Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Sit and Think

I do a lot of thinking. It’s nice when I can sit and drink coffee while I think. I might get to do that today. So, what have I been thinking about lately? The Amur leopard. I had a dream about a place in Russia where the Amur leopards live, so now I may try to do a painting of a leopard. Or at least their spots. They are such beautiful creatures.

by Shelley

February 8, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, painting, photo, Shelley's Creations

9 Comments »

  1. Shelley, I’ll put the kettle on! It’s nice when dreams inspire you. It’s rum oured that Paul McCartney woke up with the whole arrangement of “Yesterday” in his head, and it was so good he thought someone must’ve already written it! His working title for it was “Scrambled Eggs”!
    Similarly, Keith Richards woke up in the middle of the night and bleary-eyed, managed to get “Satisfaction” down on a tape recorder, discovering it the next day and not remembering a thing about it. A rich source of creativity, our dreams..oops, kettle’s boiling!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 8, 2008

  2. Must be Siberia, Shelley! amur is a big river there, I think… and Kev you sure are right about dreams and creativity! Sometimes I think that what I dream at night determines my all day! A good dream and I paint a lot and I’m happy as a (…gimme a saying, someone!) And a bad or sad dreams and I’m no good all day…

    There is a Neil Jordan (I think) movie called “IN DREAMS” (with Annette Benning and Downey jr in a terrifik role!) so beautiful and so frightful I rarely have the courage to look it more than once a year… With Roy Orbison’s song as a theme…

    Comment by iondanu | February 8, 2008

  3. “happy as a lark”

    Comment by kevmoore | February 8, 2008

  4. I’ve got a good one Danu, in French and in German:
    Il est heureux comme un chien qui se noye.
    Er ist so glücklich wie ein Hund, der sich ersäuft.
    Happy as a dog that drowns.
    Now, don’ t ask me if it really means happy or the contrary!

    Great entry, Shelley, I love the design of your picture! A great piece, really! And I am so happy to see your little coffee cups again, this is how you started in Cafe Crem… Oh dear, I get very emotional now!
    And you made me laugh so much saying that you will try to paint the leopard spots…
    Big Hug Shelley!

    Comment by Miki | February 8, 2008

  5. Happy as a clam! That is how I feel today. The weather is warm, the sun is shining. I am having a good day 🙂

    I am trying to get the kids to rake leaves outside. I’d better go check on them.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 8, 2008

  6. Amur leapords?
    Sound interesting, I love snow leapords.. gorgeous things.. big cats .. they’re all beautiful creatures!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 9, 2008

  7. .. on second thought I’d never go and stroke them.. YIKES!

    Comment by supersizeme | February 9, 2008

  8. That one with le chien qui se noye must be ironical, Miki… I’b be rather like a clam or, even better, as a lark!

    Comment by iondanu | February 9, 2008

  9. Thinking is good. I want to see how you can work only on the spots. That’s a challenge I don’t want to have. Good luck… What woud the meaning of dreaming with leopards be??

    Comment by anangeli | February 10, 2008


Leave a Reply

