Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Many Hands Spoil The Broth?

By Kev Moore

Many hands make light work

When this theme was suggested, It occurred to me just how many proverbs have an equal and exact opposite. It’s almost like a game of trumps….come up with a proverb to illustrate your point, and your verbal adversary, quick as a flash, comes back at you with an equally proverbial, yet contrary anecdote.

So today, with a little artistic licence, I present two of the classics.

“Many hands make light work” which can be countered with:
“Too many cooks spoil the broth”

Which one rings true for you? the former or the latter? Neither? Both?
Answers on the back of $100 bill, addressed to the Fund for Ailing Musicians, Spain.

Or if you’re sending a cheque, make it out to: Kaja Espresso Valencia, for quickness, you may just want to put the initials, K.E.V.

February 4, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, culture, Entertainment, food, friends, humor, Kev Moore's Cartoons, life, Music, personal, Proverbs and Sayings, writing

13 Comments »

  1. Are we allowed to send in more than one answer? On separate $100s of course. I want to make damn sure I win this time.

    Susan, stay out of this. Save your stack of $100s for Valentine’s chocolate.

    Comment by wrjones | February 4, 2008

  2. Brilliant!

    I forgot there are opposite proverbs for many of them. How the heck did everyone used to remeber all of them to quote for each situation???? Our ancestors must have had bigger brains or somthing!

    Oh.. and Kev? “The cheque is in the mail”! LOL!!

    Comment by Bonny | February 4, 2008

  3. I know Bonny. The amount of times I come across a great quote or saying, and think “OO, I’ll use that one day” and of course its gone into that vast unlit hinterland we laughingly call our memory, never to be heard from again!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 5, 2008

  4. I’ll tell you the answer on the back of my $100 – when it comes to making dinner – neither. Stay out of my way if I’m cooking (unless you’re willing to do absolutely what I tell you and keep your mouth shut). Not very nice, I know. but you just try to cook dinner in my house with the teen hunger raids in full swing!)

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | February 5, 2008

  5. Great drawings, Kevin!
    And I promise, I will never cook the broth with you…

    Comment by Miki | February 5, 2008

  6. In German:
    “Viele Köche verderben den Brei”
    More of less the same I guess. I don’t know exactly what is “broth” …
    And in French too:
    “Trop de cuisiniers gâtent la sauce.”
    well, if sauce means broth…

    Comment by Miki | February 5, 2008

  7. Well, Broth is a kind of thick soup, (usually Scotch Broth) but I suppose it could be Chinese for referring to two things……..(think about it)

    Comment by kevmoore | February 5, 2008

  8. Great idea and picture Uncle Kevin! I prefer the second saying: “too many cooks spoil the broth” and I will use it when my boyfriend will ask me to help him in the kitchen! The idea of the oposite is great. It exists in French, for exemple:
    “qui se ressemble s’assemble” vs “les opposés s’attirent”.

    Comment by contessine | February 5, 2008

  9. Well, Contessine, as far as I am aware, your boyfriend never asks you to help him in the kitchen, he is not silly! He much more prefers your Cat Astrof as an assistant cook!

    Comment by Miki | February 5, 2008

  10. Yes, as far as you are aware, or you remember…but like the song says: “j’ai la mémoire qui flanche ….”

    Comment by contessine | February 5, 2008

  11. et toi tu as le cœur qui te tombe dans les pantalons a la pensée de la soutenance de ta thèse!

    Comment by Miki | February 5, 2008

  12. illustrate the sayiny too many coocks spoil the broth

    Comment by zion | March 2, 2009

  13. awesome work dude kamini

    Comment by raashi shah | September 2, 2012


Leave a Reply

