Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Dogs bark…

By Miki

Thinking about French expressions and sayings, I was confronted with my language these last few days, more intensely than before and I noticed how much I enjoy it. Many times already I had thought to create a blog in French, because I am struggling so much to write in English what I want to say, without all the mistakes and with all the details and nuances I would love to… really frustrating sometimes!

In honour of Cafe Crem and the expression I want to present now, I created today that new, French blog, and I called it “Caravane”. So people, if you want to learn French, or to read something you don’t understand at all, just go to Caravane and let me know! English comments are allowed.

Well, at least the URL is Caravane. The title… it will gradually change with my mood! Today it is called “Les chiens aboient…” (Dogs bark…)

Les chiens aboient

“Les chiens aboient, la caravane passe”

“Dogs bark, the caravane is passing by”

In fact it is a proverb, and not an expression. It means something like: when somebody is self confident, sure of his way, nothing and not even the loudest protests or warnings can make him change his way.

It is from Arabian origin. Funny is that I have read somewhere that there are hardly dogs in the desert where the caravans are passing by. And when there are some, they don’t bark. They just smile under the shadow of the acacias…

But one thing is sure: the dogs, barking or sleeping or balling, are invading Café Crem!

February 3, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Art, culture, humor, life, Proverbs and Sayings, random, travel, writing

2 Comments »

  1. The equivalent in Romanian: Nu mor caii cand vor cainii! (The horses don’t die when the dogs desire, or something like that…)

    Comment by iondanu | February 4, 2008

  2. There is an expression, which I first heard in “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” (a film mentioned elsewhere in these hallowed pages by myself and Bill) where John Candy’s character takes his shoes off, announcing “Jeez, my dogs are barking today!” I think he’s referring to his feet killing him after walking so much. I dont know if its a commonly used phrase, or just invented for the movie, but its a good one!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 5, 2008


Leave a Reply

