Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Como las bolas del perro.

Siempre tarde, always late… Como las bolas del perro”`= Like the balls of a dog (sounds lighter in English)… What saying in English would convey the same message? I wonder. French?? Any other language here?I don’t have a drawing yet.. Hum-mm I think it would be gross, but hey… anyone can volunteer one, you are welcome…

I will try to come up with one today, it’s too early for me to draw. There are sayings for everything and on every possible wording. This saying is applied to anyone who is late on everything , at the end of the line, the last to appear, the last to understand, the last to get to the meeting, etc…

Many times sayings use the crudest way to convey a strong, direct message,and we hear them all the time when walking the malls or streets, specially from men, who are not afraid of saying the “bad” words.

Well, I think I found a good compromise.This illustrates it.

bolas-de-perro.jpg

Yolanda

February 1, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, Proverbs and Sayings, Yolanda's Paintings | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Nothing is coming to my mind for English, but then, I haven’t had my coffee yet.

    I can’t wait to see if you come up with a drawing for this one! 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 1, 2008

  2. It would have to show you know what… I am working on it, after my first cup of coffee

    Comment by mayaritte | February 1, 2008

  3. A great and very funny entry, Yolanda! I enjoy it a lot! And yes you found a good compromise… I just wonder if the dog is under the desk…?
    I really can’t think of any similar expression, neither in French nor German. It might be because we in France are never too late, saying that “punctuality is the politeness of the kings”. And the German, well, with their fast cars, they are always too early!

    Comment by Miki | February 1, 2008

  4. I don’t really get it! (I had tea instead of coffee so that my hads hold still to draw… Joking!) But I still don’t get way are the cojones of the perro last? The way he scrach his backsides over the floor? or what?

    Comment by iondanu | February 1, 2008

  5. Oh Danu!!!! God you made me laugh!
    If you look on the picture the expression is written:
    “siempre atras, como las bolas del perro.”
    “Atras” means behind in Spanish, but it means something like late too. I guess it is as simple as that, the balls of the dog are just behind! I had a look myself, it is true!

    Comment by Miki | February 1, 2008

  6. You are right. Miki… Because they are “atras”, on the back, behind. haven’t you been behind on any project? It’s teh same concept.

    That’s the last thing of the dog’sbody, not counting the tail, that is. Because they always show “atras” … LOL Iondanu, I will have to post the not so nice drawing of the dog and the cojones showing.

    Comment by mayaritte | February 2, 2008

  7. Miki, did you have a look at a dog??? Is that what you meant???

    Comment by mayaritte | February 2, 2008

  8. Hi Mayaritte… great name, sounds like Madame Magritte… I guess even Danu would get it!
    I’m glad to see that I understood it right with the balls behind…
    Yes, I had a look at a dog, many times even. But normally I don’t look at them from behind… just this time, for the safe of Cafe Crem Culture… and it was just a furtive glance… please, don’t tell Kevin!!!!!

    Comment by Miki | February 2, 2008

  9. Looking my cat, I am thinking or “como las bolas del gato”…really!

    Comment by contessine | February 2, 2008

  10. Shame on you, Contessine! And this in front of your aunt…

    Comment by Miki | February 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

