Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Like 2 Fingers of the Hand

By Miki

Like 2 fingers

“Ils sont comme les 2 doigts de la main”

“They are like 2 fingers of the hand”

Welcome to February and this months new theme in Cafe Crem: “National Proverbs and Sayings”

Gradually I will make some entries about this theme, presenting different sayings which I like. According to my nationality and to honour the languages and culture diversity of Cafe Crem, the sayings I will present will be in French language, and I will always give the literal translation in English. It has the advantage to be at the same time a kind of language class for all of you!

You might have noticed that I am quite obsessively in love with the greatest Rocker of all time, Kev Moore… So I couldn’t help but start my series of sayings with the following:

“Ils sont comme les 2 doigts de la main”

which literally means:

“They are like 2 fingers of the hand”

I guess it is quite obvious what it means, 2 persons almost exactly alike. Well, you might think Kevin and me, we are not, because we look VERY different, almost contrary. But believe me, we are just the same! And once in France we even met an old woman who said:

“You look exactly the same… the same profile, the same mouth, the same nose…”

And yes, she still had good eyes! Our identity must shine from inside to outside, I guess…

The equivalent saying in Spain is:

“Ser come una y carne”

which means

“To be the nail and the flesh”

quite crude, these Spaniards! What do you think, between Kevin and me, who is the nail and who is the flesh… ?

So people, is there an equivalent saying in your country? Or a contrary one perhaps? Let us know!

January 31, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, friends, humor, life, literature, love, men, Miki's Paintings, personal, photography, Proverbs and Sayings, women

14 Comments »

  1. Great first entry Tatatounette! Only one question to start with: what is with the 3 other fingers?

    Comment by contessine | January 31, 2008

  2. mUY BUENO

    Comment by Limpiezastolan | January 31, 2008

  3. This is like the English version:

    “Like two peas in a pod.”

    I love your sketch/collage! Really a neat combination the way it turned out!

    Comment by Bonny | February 1, 2008

  4. This french expression means too : to be inseparable. In Flemish, they use to say: like “twee handen op een buik”, which means : like two hands on one stomach”.

    Comment by contessine | February 1, 2008

  5. It looks like Bonny beat me to “two peas in a pod.”

    Your heads look so cute together on those fingers! 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 1, 2008

  6. The closest equivalence that come to my mind is: Cum e turcul, si pistolul! (translation, very aproximative: like a Turk and his pistol!)

    Comment by iondanu | February 1, 2008

  7. Como Una y carne,,, Like nail and flesh… We use the forst also,,as we were colonized by Spain. It’s a marveous thing to see how, although with different wording, many languages have the same concept….. Kind of Universal concepts as interpreted by different cultures/langauges.

    Comment by Anangeli | February 1, 2008

  8. Th eillustration is “hip”, beautiful…. You really know how to grasp things visually!!!

    Comment by Yolanda | February 1, 2008

  9. Thanks, Yolanda.
    I guess you are right with the Universal concept, this is the expression I was looking for when I commented Bonny’s entry. At the end we are all done out of the same stuff and we come from the same place…

    @Danu
    Very funny, made me laugh a lot! And this is really totally different…
    @Shelley and Bonny
    Thanks for compliments! I will have to look what a “pod” is. I wonder if it has something to do with “Ipod”?
    @Contessine
    This is very funny too! I very well recognise the Flemish character in this expression!

    Comment by Miki | February 1, 2008

  10. I find this Flemish translation interesting too, and representative, but, for tell you the true, I was more expecting something like: like two hands on a tankard of bier/in a cornet of fries…When I look for the translation of “frites”, I found in american chips and british “french fries”, funny because for French, Fries are from Belgium!!!and chips means other thing.

    Comment by contessine | February 2, 2008

  11. I can’t tell you how confusing it was in America for the first time trying to get chips with a burger!
    They always seemed to put a load of crisps on there!
    Indeed, “Two peas in a pod is the english expression, which I find more exact..I mean no two fingers are alike, are they? nevertheless, I love the illustration!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 4, 2008

  12. Me too, I love the illustration and a great beginning to this month.
    “WE are all made from the same stuff” (Miki above) reminds me of the English, “cut from the same cloth.”, which is indeed similar.
    Kev, remember how in Norway, they eat fries with mayonaise? How do you eat them in England?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | February 5, 2008

  13. The only respectable way to eat fries in England is in newspaper Susan! (plus, it makes more use of an english newspaper than actually reading it!)

    Comment by kevmoore | February 5, 2008

  14. love the illustration and a great beginning to this month.

    Comment by callie walls | July 23, 2012


Leave a Reply

