Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Runaway

Like Kev, I realize this month is coming to a close, and I have been debating with myself whether or not to post this piece. I did this study 13 months ago, while in a deep depression. Wading through years of emotional gunk, I found myself producing some of my best art ever. So ironically, it was good for me. This is certainly not a masterpiece, but I feel the need to post it, then move on.

by Shelley

January 24, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, culture, drawing, family, life, Parents and Children, personal, poetry, Shelley's Creations, writing

11 Comments »

  1. oh I like and thanks for sharing these feelings and art

    Comment by Marco | January 24, 2008

  2. Shelley, this is a brave entry, and my god, so eloquent. The hairs on my arms were standing up as I read it. I felt like I was getting a (privileged) glimpse into your soul. The fight to claw one’s way out of depression, wonderfully expressed. It moved me very much.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 24, 2008

  3. VERY deep and touching, Shelley… I, like Kevin, got “la chair de poule” as I read it… this entry is one of the BIG moments of Cafe Crem, from the kind when one thinks one could chnage the world…
    Simply: un immense MERCI!

    Comment by Miki | January 24, 2008

  4. Welcome to Cafe Crem Marco! Am I right thinking that you are French? or at least francophone? This is so cool!!!!

    Comment by Miki | January 24, 2008

  5. thanks for sharing this very personal, honest account. i can certainly relate to the ‘high-low’ cycle. usually it has helped me when in a low state of mind to get the hell outta there by whatever means, whether its as simple as going for a walk etc. i think it can often be the familiar environment that drives us to follow old patterns which are destructive… oh, getting rather serious! anyway, that was cool to look at. i dont know if my blog post ‘part1’ will ring any bells with you?

    Comment by 1ben | January 24, 2008

  6. You know, shelley, this is familiar to me: I also, paradoxically, created more art in my deep depression times than in normal, happy times? Must be something about this…

    Did you see Forrest Gump? One of the best, most moving films I ever seen, in the last 10-15 years. Very zen, I would say, just like your drawing. And the chinese (and japanese after them) consider drawing and writting inseparable …

    Comment by iondanu | January 25, 2008

  7. Shelley, you are so brave for sharing this entry. I can relate to your feelings – as I’m sure we all can to some degree. For me, it was journaling that got me out of mydepression. It wasn’t until after I was okay with myself and the world again that I began making art. It’s a journey I hope to continue as long as I can!

    Comment by Bonny | January 25, 2008

  8. The Arts are our safety valve, and those of us lucky enough to have these creative outlets benefit greatly from this. Music was always my therapy, although, whilst Ive written some good stuff in my darker moments, it was performing that was my therapy. My best written work (prose, poetry and song)has come about since I achieved contentment. Danu, how true about the chinese and japanese. The pictograms, so beautifully stylised, a work of art and words combined.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 25, 2008

  9. Yes, Kev, true! You are right about the pictograms and man, how right are you! about Arts as safety valve! If it weren’t for drawing and painting I would have been either dead or in a straight jacket by now…

    Comment by iondanu | January 25, 2008

  10. I think I am a little bit different, Danu and Kevin… and Shelley perhaps… sports has always been my safety valve, not art. When my brain is ill I can only save it moving my body… I can paint when I am depressed but I don’t enjoy it, and when I don’t enjoy it, I don’t value it…
    But I am VERY happy that Arts saved YOU, Danu! I wouldn’t like to miss you here in Cafe Crem, or in your other places.
    And Kevin ‘s work is better, when he is happy. Simply freer (or do they say “more free” ). It is logical I think… free from pain and doubts, one must feel it in the produced work…

    Comment by Miki | January 25, 2008

  11. Oh Shelley, what a touching entry! Such purely honest words!
    C’ est vraiment émouvant de te découvrir sous ce nouveau jour, quelle profondeur dans les mots et dans les sentiments!

    Comment by contessine | January 25, 2008


Leave a Reply

