Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Family Life

daumier1.jpg
I picked up an antique book of Honore Daumier’s sketches entitled Family Life at a library book sale last week. My initial thought was to study them to improve my figure sketching. But now I realize they are also perfect for this month – so full of the truth about family life even 1 1/2 centuries later. I am past this stage with my children, but I remember well the impossibility of reading the paper.
daumier2.jpg
There’s always one parent or the other feeling overwhelmed while the other is having a break.
daumier3.jpg
Oh, I can so totally relate to this one. You finally get a moment alone with your spouse and you’re too tired to even talk.
daumier4.jpg
He wants to stay and fish some more, but she has other ideas. Oh, I’m just so enamored of the way Daumier captures the spirit of the moment with so few lines.
-Susan
January 22, 2008 - Posted by | Art, books, culture, drawing, family, fun, humor, life, Parents and Children, women

5 Comments »

  1. This is a lovely entry, Susan! Thank you for the giggle 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 22, 2008

  2. These are so apt for this month’s theme Susan! I particularly recognise myself in Number One!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 23, 2008

  3. This is really a fantastic entry for this month’s theme, Susan, so original and different from what we have posted til now!
    And you are right, superb sketches. I especially love the way Daumier expresses the persons’ feelings through exaggeration of the body language…
    It reminds me a great German drawer, a little bit in this style but with even simpler lines, I must see if I can find some of his family sketches and post them here…

    Comment by Miki | January 23, 2008

  4. Yes, Susan, Daumier was (is) one of the greatest… He is one of my models, in fact, his capacity of drawing quickly, as a litghning, is still amazing for any artist… We still have a lot to learn from him…

    And his dark (sometimes) humour and acute observing capacity show us there are a lot of things PERMANENT in the family thing…

    Comment by iondanu | January 23, 2008

  5. I really enjoy these sketches, Susan! Some remind me a part of my own life, especially the last one…

    Comment by contessine | January 25, 2008


Leave a Reply

