Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A Tale of Two Mugs, or, how the heir lost his receptacle (with apologies to Jethro Tull)

Cups Spiderman and Homer Simpson

I couldn’t resist the opportunity to fuse together, a coffee cup entry and a parents/children entry, so here it is.By the way, this is my first ever watercolour (I know, you can tell!). I have been inspired by Susan and Danu’s recent entries. It depicts two cups, and each have their own, albeit different, stories attached. Both were Christmas presents, but only one, to my shame, reached its intended recipient.

Let us begin with the one on the right. the Homer Simpson mug. This was a gift some years ago from my daughter. what the picture doesn’t tell you, is that it contained a large double chocolate donut, which lasted approximately 0.2 nanoseconds after the wrapping was removed. She gave me that kind of look which said; “oh, yeah, I know YOUR weakness, Daddy!” I mumbled a thank you between the mouthfuls and errant crumbs, and tried to hide my shame by opening other presents. Every time I look at that cup, I am reminded that I am only one donut away from falling off the wagon…..

So, inevitably, the mug on the right. a glorious celebration of the institution that is Marvel, in this case personified by Spider-Man. I bought this for my son, but, foolish child that he is, he reckoned without my juvenile tendencies. The puny mortal thought that spidey was HIS generations to revere, HAHAHAHA!! (((maniacal, echoing laughter))) Did he not know that I had a pile of Marvel and DC comics higher than my bed???? I had Daredevil issue NUMBER 4, for god’s sake!! and so it came to pass that, after opening the present at my house, the mug never left, and has remained a fixture in my kitchen ever since. Corey is bereft, and has to drink from lesser vessels, probably depicting crap superheroes like the Flash (He can run fast, big deal…Superman does that before breakfast).

So, although my son and I have learned to move beyond my festive faux pas, I urge all of you parents out there, be careful if you choose a gift for your offspring that you yourself covet….Remember the wise words of Peter Parker’s dear departed Uncle “With great power comes great responsibility.”

Kev Moore

January 13, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, family, humor, Kev Moore's Cartoons, life, painting, Parents and Children, personal, writing | , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. I must say that I am very impressed by this first water colour painting from Kevin! I know he doesn´t believe me, he thinks I am not objective because I love him so much, but it is REALLY a lovely painting, and I will do all I can to encourage him to go on this way!!! And he had such a pleasure doing it!
    Susan and Danu, thank you so much to have inspired him doing that!!!!

    Comment by Miki | January 13, 2008

  2. It is my pleasure, and I must agree I am also thoroughly impressed with little watercolor and hope to see many more. I’m hoping some of your writing ability rubs off on me too Kev.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | January 14, 2008

  3. You are multi-talented, Kev! That watercolor is very good, even it wouldn’t be your first… And this are only the talents we know about…

    When you got some leisure moment you should read a small book by Henry Miller (if you didn’t already!) called: To paint is to love again (Peindre c’est aimer à nouveau. It’s a litlle marvel who gives you the envy to paint. And yes, it’s THAT Henry Miller, the Cancer of… writer…

    Comment by iondanu | January 14, 2008

  4. hahaha…I am terrible at giving gifts. My house is full of things I bought for others that I ended up keeping myself.

    All of this colorful artwork is inspiring!

    Oh…did I miss something, Kev? Why are you apologizing to Jethro Tull?

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 14, 2008

  5. Hi Shelley! I was wondering if anyone would ask that! It’s just one of my painful play on words. My son is the “heir” who lost his receptacle(the spidey mug) and Jethro Tull, on their album “A Passion Play” recorded a song called “The Hare who lost his spectacles” Aren’t you glad you asked?!! 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | January 14, 2008

  6. This is hilarious Kevin!
    Mmmm… chocolate DOH!

    I do that too, buy gifts but cant bear to part with them if their too good, I’ve become so greedy.. the guilt of over-indulging oneself.. well not ike I know anything about it :p

    Comment by supersizeme | January 14, 2008

  7. Mmm…I hope you are referring to my comedic writing and not my watercolour skills, Supe! 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | January 15, 2008

  8. if I could “watercolor” the way Kevin does I would become a painter… And I am sure I oculd demand good dough! Believe us.

    Comment by Yolanda | January 16, 2008

  9. Yolanda, you are very kind! does this mean I can start asking for money? 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 16, 2008

  10. I am so happy to read all your reactions about Kevin´s first watercolour painting, and so proud of him!
    As he told me he wanted to try, after having admired Susan´s and Danu´s sketches, I was very surprised, and very excited. I prepared my brushes for him, cleaned my watercolours, gave him a good piece of water colour paper, installed him at my new painting table here, told him only 10 words about the tecnics of watercoloiur and left him alone there… he looked so wonderful there, sitting at my table in the sun with all the painting stuff around him, so concentrated but kind of smiling… I was sitting in another room, and sometimes he came to me, at different stages of the painting, to show it to me ands asked if it was ok… it was, and more than that! Anyway I was deeply touched by his behaviour, by the true, almost childish pleasure he had in doing it and his pride as it was finished… and later every time he saw it when he came to Cafe Crem, he said to me:
    “It is not so bad!”
    and I sensed that it meant, in his typical English way of understatements:
    “It is quite good!”
    Of course, it is!

    Comment by Miki | January 16, 2008

  11. Yes, Kevin of course,
    The watercolouring is ace! Miki’s worked her art-charms on you eh?

    Comment by supersizeme | January 16, 2008

  12. I think you may go to hell for lying about this being your first water color. It is a beauty.

    Comment by wrjones | January 18, 2008

  13. Bill, I’m touched (perhaps not as often as I would like) but touched nevertheless.

    It really is my first. I’m pretty sure I’ve avoided painting before because I haven’t got enough trousers, and I’ve grown out of my skirts.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 18, 2008


Leave a Reply

