Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Family Squeeze

3forgrandma.jpg
That’s my mother there in the midst of all my menfolk. Yuh think she’s enjoying it? Yup! A lot of friends my age talk about being squeezed between two generations – caring for the young generation and the elder generation at the same time. That’s a different kind of squeeze from the picture, and it’s been keeping me busy, I’d have to say. (I guess that could be my excuse for not showing up on Cafe Crem as regularly as I’d like)
I had my boys when I was 40 and 42 so sometimes I operate a bit more like a grandmother. Other times I think they’re keeping my perspective young, which I really appreciate as does my 88 year old mother(obviously). When she asked if they had learned ballroom dancing and I said no, she wisely commented that “well, maybe nowadays that’s a skill they won’t need in life?” I would guess, probably not.
-Susan
January 3, 2008 - Posted by | family, fun, humor, life, love, men, Parents and Children

6 Comments »

  1. Beautiful family, Susan!

    Comment by iondanu | January 3, 2008

  2. Beautiful family and I LOVE your mom’s response about the ballroom dancing! Talk about an understatement 🙂

    Comment by psychscribe | January 3, 2008

  3. Your Mum makes me smile, Susan! Such a joy of life coming through.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 4, 2008

  4. Wonderful to see your four children again, Susan…!
    Ill be back soon…

    Comment by Miki | January 4, 2008

  5. Happy photo Susan. Kind of you to share it with us.

    Comment by Michael | January 4, 2008

  6. I like that Kev. . .she’s me Mum. Sounds sweeter in British somehow.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | January 6, 2008


Leave a Reply

