Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Dady and I (back in time)

Dady and I

This is my dady with me helping me to walk some 19  years ago. I love him, adore him, admire him. He is the best man I’ve ever known. He is so intelligent and I try my best to be like him, to make him proud of me though sometimes I feel I don’t try enough. Seeing him suffer is the worst thing for me, sometimes he let me help him, some other times he doesn’t. He has been, is and will always be a great dad and a fantastic friend for me!

Since I was a child most of the times he goes out, or when he has just washed his hair, I ask him to let me brush his hair… He says he likes it but I know that even if he didn’t like he would let me do it the same ’cause I like it.

I love you dady!!

Feel free to ask me whatever crosses your mind.

Mari

January 3, 2008 - Posted by | family, life, love, Parents and Children, personal, photo, photography | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hi Mari, my dad was my hero as well. That’s a hard act to follow…have you noticed?
    With a smile,
    Psychscribe

    Comment by psychscribe | January 3, 2008

  2. Hola Mari, mi nina!
    First of all I want to wish you a wonderful and happy new year! We are not home, and have an internt problem where we are but we are about to fix it and then Ill come back to Cafe Crem and comment and make entries again!
    But let me tell you that this foto is absolutly wonderful, and your entry very touhing. I will have alot to comment and to ask as son as we have internet again!
    100 besos!!! Te quiero mucho!

    Comment by Miki | January 3, 2008

  3. Mary, you caused a smile to break out all over my face! Your Dad must be so proud of you, you speak about him so beautifully. You are a credit to each other.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 3, 2008

  4. How wonderful to have such a father. And, I bet you are a great daughter as well. Be sure to count your blessings on having such a relationship. Also, you might want to give mom a hug once in a while.

    Comment by wrjones | January 3, 2008

  5. oh, boy, oh boy! You must be in your 20 ties mari!
    I wish my daughter (today she has her 19 anniversary) comb my hair too… not enough left, I’m afraid…

    Comment by iondanu | January 3, 2008

  6. I used to love to comb my Dad’s hair as well. It was the way I could be close to him since he wasn’t the cuddly type. And I loved to cook for him too. He’s gone now but I have a picture like yours of him smiling. very precious!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | January 3, 2008

  7. @Psychscribe: Yes! That’s a very hard act to follow! But we try to do our best, right?

    @Miki!! Sweet miki!! Thank you for what you said, and we’ll wait for you two eagerly!! 🙂
    Wherever you are I send you lots of hugs and kisses!! Great year for you too!! Te quiero Miki!!

    @Kev! Good to know about your smile!! Thanks for your comment!

    @Bill! I don’t know if I am a great daughter, but he is surely a great dad 🙂 Sure I want to hug my mom, but our relationship is more complicated. You will see it in a poem I will post soon.

    @Danu: Happy birthday to your daughter!!

    @Susan: I don’t know if my dad is the cuddly type ’cause sometimes it’s hard for him to show affection. But I can see in his eyes his love! Thanks for your comment!

    Comment by Mary | January 3, 2008

  8. Serendipity Mari. On my fathers death bed I told him he was my hero. On my fathers death bed I asked him looking into his blue eyes while stroking his hair as naturally as I do with my children, Are you dying Dad? He smiled and his eyes were bright. He whispered, Yes, but don’t let the children know. A few days later Dad died and my mother called me. The kids had made up a paper with their school pictures on it for him when they last saw him, and he lay there with the photos and his last spoken words of life well lived were: Christopher. Hope. Jonathan. Sarah.

    Comment by Michael | January 4, 2008

  9. Michael! How touching that you were able to tell your father that he was your hero. What a wonderful gift to send him off with…

    Comment by psychscribe | January 6, 2008

  10. I wish I could see my Father as my hero, but alas, I cannot. Don´t misunderstand me, he may be one, but its not how I see him, and its not that he is a bad person, far from it. But we have had our differences, and I agonise over it. I refer to what Bill wisely said in another thread to Mary about giving a hug. My Father neither gives nor is able to receive such a thing from me, and it saddens me. Although my son and I live countries apart, I have never allowed that to happen between us, he knows he is loved. I will perhaps post about this, its a big topic.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2008


Leave a Reply

