Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Parents & Children

Happy New Year, Café Crem!  

Today I have the honor of posting the first piece for the first day of 2008.   Since I am a writer before I am a therapist in the blogosphere, I offer you a poem I happened to write a long time ago but which captures our theme quite well, I think:

INSIDE OUT

My mother, so finely formed

must have been a favorite

of the Unseen Artist. 

Of all the colors of His rainbow

He chose red

and loaned it to her to wear for the long  journey. 

How softly now, regretfully

He brushes her with age

(a Moonlight Mist for this one)

whispering to Beauty that

it’s time to go inside.

Jolted

by these gentle preparations

I  weep upon the eggshell breast

of my newborn daughter

 who came from within. 

By Psychscribe copyright 2007

January 1, 2008 - Posted by | family, life, Parents and Children, personal, poetry, random, writing

8 Comments »

  1. I love this poem.

    My favorite lines are

    of all the colors of His rainbow/ He chose red/ and loaned it to her to wear for the long journey.

    Comment by survivorscribe | January 1, 2008

  2. I weep upon the eggshell breast

    of my newborn daughter

    who came from within.

    I like those lines.

    Comment by TutuK | January 2, 2008

  3. Wow! Such a lovely poem! It’s great for the first entry!

    Comment by Mary | January 2, 2008

  4. Thanks guys 🙂

    Comment by psychscribe | January 2, 2008

  5. Some great lines in there psychscribe! Very evocative imagery and interesting scanning. Happy New Year!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 3, 2008

  6. thanks kev – what is “interesting scanning” ?

    Comment by psychscribe | January 4, 2008

  7. Its my clumsy way of saying your poem doesnt follow a traditional meter (in my opinion) for example, the aside (a moonlight mist for this one) is really nice! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 4, 2008

  8. Touched!!!

    Comment by Michael | January 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

