Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Which One Of Us Just Had Our Coffee?

By W.R. Jones

attheeaselpost.jpg

I’m reluctant to share this photo as the painting on the easel has been there for a couple of years now.  I have some type of mental block about finishing this piece.

For those of you itching to send me stuff my birthday is May 20, 1945.  For those tightwads who don’t send me anything, I think my birthday remains the same.

This photo clearly shows the young woman has just had a great cup of coffee while my dour face says I won’t paint a lick until I get a fresh cup and a donut.

December 27, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, WR Jones' Paintings

22 Comments »

  1. Unbelievable! We share the same birthday, never mind the same warped sense of humour!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 27, 2007

  2. Hello Bill. Nice to meet you finally. And the coincidence with Kev is amazing!!!
    Great photo {a ClaSSic}

    Comment by Michael | December 27, 2007

  3. Great face (really!) and great painter image in the suit! Have you some acting talent, Bill? You would make a great Van Gogh!
    I can’t believe that you were born on the same day as Kevin, and even less that you are 14 years older than him! You both, when you are together, sound like 2 naughty boys!

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  4. Well, Bill what your hace tell me is that you are about ten years younger looking than myself and would make a very nice model yourself… I don’t talk about your painting which I already know is awesome…

    Comment by iondanu | December 27, 2007

  5. Thanks for the kind comments.

    Kevin let’s agree right now that we are NOT sharing gifts – they must buy two of everything.

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007

  6. True that Bill would make a great model!
    But Danu, you don’t look old at all, look at your skin, not one wrinkle, smooth like the one of a baby face!

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  7. Hi, Bill. So nice to see you life-sized! (instead of the little thumnail).

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | December 27, 2007

  8. You got it wrong, Bill, we don’t buy anything! Much better: We all put entries for you on that day… and you will have to put one for Kevin!!!

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  9. If you don’t buy stuff the economy will falter and the art supply houses will go out of business. A large part of staying young (at least in spirit) is wanting toys and sucking your thumb or a bottle of vodka if one is handy.

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007

  10. Thanks MM,

    But the thumbnail does smooth out the skin and for Miki, the saying here is smooth like a babies bottom.

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007

  11. I understand now, this is the reason why you can’t finish your painting…

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  12. Sorry Bill, I never saw a baby bottom, so I can’t tell anything about it…

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  13. Bill, the markets would be a little more stable with more of your fiscal common sense. I agree with your “2 of everything” premise. Sucking a bottle of vodka sounds infinitely preferable to the thumb. It’s why I only consented to our Russian tour because I had assurances that it was sponsored by Stolichnaya, and we were presented with copious amounts of (free) vodka. We each received commemorative 5 litre bottles with taps on, in special wooden presentation crates. You can imagine the sight at customs as the band dragged them through Heathrow. “What are those?” asked the Customs guy. “It’s a party in a box” I answered, truthfully, I thought.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 27, 2007

  14. You may have to spend a bit of time with Miki explaining how this gift business works. Of course one wouldn’t expect her to have the market savvy of a couple of Nobel candidate economists like ourselves. Given that the Euro is worth more than the dollar, please to save yourselves from shopping stress, just send me a gift card in Euros. Or you could just donate it to Kevin’s new Harley (or Triumph if they still make them) fund.

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007

  15. I wonder… how can such an angelic face have such devilish thoughts…

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  16. I am impressed with your knowledge of classic British Bikes Bill. The Triumph Bonneville was always my favourite, wow, dod I want one of those babies when I was young. Never got past my Honda 50 though before cars superceded the 2 wheel deal. Triumph’s of course, have a long and celebrated history, going back even to Biblical times. Moses was said to have owned one…
    “And the roar of his Triumph could be heard all across the land”

    Comment by kevmoore | December 27, 2007

  17. A motorcycle riding biblical scholar – Kevin we have something here. You can ride across Europe passing out leaflets: “Send your money directly to God through Kevin and Bill. God accepts Euros, dollars, yen, Pepsi One, and Snickers, and he wouldn’t mind a new Wii playstation.”

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007

  18. It goes without saying, but I’ll say it anyway…I like your style.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 27, 2007

  19. Hi Bill! Well I guess I’m not the oldest then cause you predate me. Somehow your face really matches up with your wit. Looks like you just said something witty or were just about to.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | December 27, 2007

  20. Strange… I expected Bill to look very different!

    Comment by Miki | December 27, 2007

  21. I agree, Susan. Of course , I’m having trouble reconciling the Pink Versace scooter outfit I once suggested to him with this photo. Thank fully, he obviously uses a better designer. And yep, I think thats Bill spot on. He’s just said something witty AND is about to!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 27, 2007

  22. You young wippersnappers.

    I have a gentle refined reply when the younger set rags on my age. “I got to live this long, you might not.”

    Miki, did you expect me to look 6’4″? Since I watched a special that showed how women prefer tall men, I’ve been 6’4″. It hasn’t seemed to help.

    I had to take off my platform shoes to get this shot otherwise the top of the painting only comes to my belt buckle.

    A line I liked from a completely politically correct entertainer on the cruise ship: “My Asian black wife an I have 3 kids. Two of them are adopted. We haven’t been able to place the third.”

    Comment by wrjones | December 27, 2007


Leave a Reply

