Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Thinking Of Miki

By W.R. Jones

crystal-symphony-cup.jpg

Merry Christmas to all and a very happy new year soon to come.

I expect that for the rest of my life whenever I see a lovely cup or mug I will think of Miki. I really liked this cup from the Crystal Symphony cruise ship.

I also thought of Kevin on this trip. There is never a shortage of idiot passengers be it plane or boat. Two examples on this cruise:

1. The 2 men and a woman who went through a gate marked “CREW ONLY” to get to the bow of the ship. There they played Titanic (standing with both arms raised) until told to leave.

2. The 2 men opening a hatch marked “KEEP CLOSED AT ALL TIMES”. “Here, Danny, we can get on deck this way.” “Oh, ya, this is a shortcut.” And did they at least close the hatch after exiting? Nope.

December 26, 2007 - Posted by | Art

4 Comments »

  1. Merry Christmas Bill! I am happy and flattered to be in your thoughts whenever you see a “lovely” cup… could be worst!!!
    What a wonderful cup indeed! I hope that the cruise company will give the whole team of Cafe Crem a free trip for advertising their stuff!
    I am myself totally focussed to coffee cups now, whenever I look at a film, for example, I only see the cups when there are some!
    Kevin will be very pleased too to read
    “I also thought of Kevin on this trip. There is never a shortage of idiot passengers !”
    GREAT!!!! It’s called “journalism” what I am doing right now…

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  2. Bill, welcome back! I’m telling you, I could write a book about incidents with passengers from my Cruise ship time. We, the entertainers, always looked forward to the early sailing from Antigua every week. (We would leave berth at around 3pm instead of the usual 5pm) and we would all sit on the promenade deck with a coffee watching the fun. The Jolly Roger Rum ship would have docked about 2pm, having discarded its drunken passengers to the dockside bar. Did I say bar? I meant corrugated shack with beer crates. Anyway, already vertically challenged, the passengers would continue to down unfeasible amounts of alcohol until some bright spark, nursing his remaining brain cell suddenly remembered they were due back on board at 3. Oh! the fun we had, watching them careening off bollards, policeman and large caribbean women, trying to make it to the ship before we hauled anchor. And haul anchor we would. Once leaving 5 passengers swaying unsteadily on the dockside, as we made our considerably more graceful departure…It got better, the pilot launch attempted to bring the unfortunate 5 alongside the ship as we steamed away. Three, by some miracle, negotiated the rope ladder (Which I think, Lew, our security guy, threw down as a joke) the other two tumbling back into the pilot boat. With no luggage, no money, no passports, and more importantly, no chance of a refund. As entertainers, we were never able to top what we referred to as “The punter cabaret”

    Comment by kevmoore | December 26, 2007

  3. Hi Bill. Glad your back.
    Your trip was great I presume?
    Merry Christmas,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  4. *giggles* I don’t travel much. It’s fun to read such interesting stories here 🙂

    Well, I think this catches me up for the time being. I have been enjoying a quiet hour with the kids out with my husband at the park to play with their new toys, and mother-in-law occupied on one of the other computers in the house.

    I think it’s time for a fresh cup of coffee! 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

