Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Even Contessine gets sociable…

I don´t know if everybody knows:

Contessine is my niece!

She normally lives here in Spain, very close to me, but she is in France right now, spending Christmas with her Mother and generally at the moment very busy publishing her final study thesis on Proust. So I guess we won´t see her here for a while. So I am publishing her photo myself, but knowing her and her fear to be seen on the net (you know, these aristocrats…) I´ll put a photo of her from behind, and in her favourite activity after reading Proust…

Contessine smoking

December 26, 2007 - Posted by | books, Christmas, culture, family, friends, fun, life, literature, personal, women, writing

22 Comments »

  1. Typical! Contessine with cigarette in hand…so French….SO unhealthy! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | December 26, 2007

  2. Now that I can pick her out in a crowd I will begin stalking. I just want one of her cigarettes. On second thought, France is kinda of far away, could she just mail me one?

    Title this photo – A young beauty smoking near an easel.

    Comment by wrjones | December 26, 2007

  3. Great to see you back, Bill, we really missed you! Kevin will come running to Cafe Crem when he realises!
    I guess Contessine would prefer to mail you a cigarette than to give you one, she is (still)such a poor student!
    I first thought you were making an intelligent wordplay with the easel, thinking that it is another word for “donkey”. Til I realised that I meant the word “Esel” which really means “donkey” in German!
    A lot of things happened in Cafe Crem in your absence… you can read about the structural change in the page “About Cafe Crem”.
    Well, and yesterday we started showing our faces… where is yours?

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  4. {Contessine’s Photo} The shot looks like a painting in and of itself. Perhaps someone could paint it?
    {Proust} Well you have my attention now. I am after 20 years of just getting by here in a French Speaking village {chose recently} to learn French and one of the reasons was so that I could read Proust.
    Wishing you happiness and joy for 2008.
    Kind Regards,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  5. Funny that you say that, Michale. A Spanish painter, as she saw this photo, asked me for a copy because she wanted to make a painting out of it. I have no idea if she did… it was 2 years ago.
    I may try myself…
    Nice would be that ALL painters here do their own version of it… by the way, one of my small dreams in Cafe Crem… that we choose a photo, and each painter here makes a painting out of it, or writes something… perhaps I should propose this idea as a theme…
    As for Proust… there is a very interesting and funny story related to Contessine Thesis and a very special painting I did for the front page of her thesis, about 2 weeks ago… I will tell the story one day, but now I am not allowed…

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  6. I was thinking of you as the {one} to paint this.
    {Serendipity}
    As for the story, now you have {REALLY} got my attention. For some reason I am {attracted} to the story and to all the other elements. {Mystery?} Perhaps.
    I also wrote a book {Cecilia’s Journey} about a woman from Canada who marries a Count from Italy. The journey is of {exploration of the womans sensuality} and the back story is {The Count absconds with his family’s {art} heritage with another woman leaving the young Countess and her daughter in their Villa by the lake to unravel this {mystery}. I won’t say anything more because it is the way it was dictated to me that {creates} a certain {cleverness} a play on the intersection of character and themes and story that held me breathless when writing it and still gives me {chills} of anticipation when I pick it up to look it over. It was my third book and think it will be my first {best} and most of all it had given me great pleasure writing it.
    {Decision} I recently met up on chat with Jessan who is a professional writer and editor, but she has not done a novel. She has published books of poetry and taught creative writing at a prestigious school outside of New York. {Anyway} she has agreed to work with me on getting {One More Day} polished off and she will personally deliver it representing me to a man who has published three Nobel Laureates in Literature.
    {This man} I first called up in 1992 and spoke with him. I sent of a manuscript then that was half finished and he wrote back to tell me I had {a gift}. It has taken me this long to get to this comment to tell you he is now President of a Major International Imprint Publisher and a few weeks ago he responded to my email {Michael I will personally read all 10 books if you send them to me.}
    I know I am talking about myself but here’s another thought I had which you just stated about Contessine {a very special painting I did for the front page of her thesis, about 2 weeks ago}. Ironically a few weeks ago I was thinking to have you do the cover of my {books} because of my love of art and writing. On a professional level I simply love your work and it expresses the {classicism | romanticism | universal energy} that defines coherence and clarity and creation in a dualistic painter writer synergy creating {a moment of Inspired Convergence and Singularity}.
    Simply would you honor me with a painting {when I am ready and you are ready} for the cover of the {first} book I will present to the publisher hand delivered by my friend direct to one of the worlds leading imprints?

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  7. YES!!!!!!!

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  8. Yes yes yes!
    I am so happy for you, Michael! And I will be very happy and flattered to make a painting for your book, really!
    I will be ready when YOU are ready, I know my priorities!
    I can tell you what my painting is about, but I am not allowed to show it and to tell the connected story before the thesis is published.
    Proust describes somewhere in one of his books (A L’ Ombre des Jeunes Filles en Fleur) a village called Balbec-Plage. It is a fantastic description, quoted many times as an example of Proust descriptive genius. Contessine gave me this page to read and ask me to paint Balbec-Plage, the way Proust describes it. The description is very colourful, kind of surrealistic, so I felt quite home! And in fact as I read the description I saw at once the village…
    It seems now that for the first time a thesis in French linguistic will show a personalized painting on its first page.

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  9. {Gracias Miki. Estoy saliendo tener un latte a celebrar. Pedí la ayuda que miraba en el cielo de la noche durante mucho tiempo. Las estrellas trajeron me a Jessan y le. Para la primera vez adentro la vida me siento que éste era destino haber elegido escribir cuando había perdido todo .}

    {Merci Miki. Je sors pour avoir un latte à célébrer. J’ai demandé l’aide regardant dans le ciel de nuit pendant longtemps. Tient le premier rôle a apporté moi à Jessan et vous. Pour la première fois dans la vie je me sens que c’était destin avoir choisi d’écrire quand j’avais perdu tout autrement.}

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  10. forgot english
    {Thank you Miki. I am going out to have a latte to celebrate. I asked for help looking into the night sky for a long time. The stars brought me to Jessan and you. For the first time in life I feel this was destiny to have chosen to write when I had lost everything else.}

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  11. Good luck with this Michael. Know that we’re all pulling for you on this.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 26, 2007

  12. Happy Latte, Michael!
    Great that you met Jessan, it seems that is exactly what tou were missing to be published. As Kevin says, we are all with you.

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  13. That is why I posted here. Where can one go to share their joy, their dreams and get support as Yolanda said?
    Thanks and I just sent you the book as it was written first draft and to see what we have to work from and also to introduced you to Jessan’s site.

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  14. Michael–I am so excited to hear this news about your writing!

    Miki–I love your idea about having us each paint or write from the same photo. This photo of Contessine caught my eye right away. Gorgeous!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 26, 2007

  15. Michael, congratulations and good luck, man! When you get your 13-14 books published give me a chance with the cover… I not as good as miki but if you got some more dark and weird stuff, maybe I can fit in…

    Comment by iondanu | December 26, 2007

  16. And, by the way, miki, michael and the others are right! this is a almost ready painting! great photo! I also be interested to read – when it will be accesible on the net, maybe? – the thesis on Proust… I did not read the entire cycle but I did read some…and it’s more than interesting…even the Sadoma and Ghomora stuff…

    Comment by iondanu | December 26, 2007

  17. Hey Danu, we are all so good here, just different! And not only the dark weird stuff is yours, Danu, I don’t paint nudes, so if Michael needs nudes… although there is big competition form Susan on the subject…
    You see, Michael, you have a team of wonderful artists wanting to make your books covers and just waiting that YOU are ready!
    Greta what is happening here…

    Comment by Miki | December 26, 2007

  18. I am speechless but am a man of integrity. With that said I have asked Miki. I have seen everyone’s work and it is all wonderful but the fact is Miki got me out of a 20 year slump where I did not want to publish because of reasons I did not know. She told me in private emails since the beginning to find the {switch} and I went looking for it {with tenacity} and found it.

    Miki knows my mind and my spirit and I know hers. How the heck do you think we found each other? I featured her as the 1st person on my blog {Featured Profile+ category} and we connected immediately. We are not alike because we each recognize that the individual is unique, but there is a {meeting of the spirit and the mind} that occurred. This is what happened just to {Clear The Air}.
    Thanks Again Miki for going that extra million miles for me!
    Kindest,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 26, 2007

  19. Miki,

    I like this idea of everyone painting on one theme and we’ll see what happens.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | December 27, 2007

  20. Hi everybody, I am back now! The thesis book is finished, printed and my destiny is now into the hands of the jury.
    I have received many compliments about Miki’s painting of Proust’s description, coming from these big French intellectuals, who had the privilege to already see it! One of them insisted that I must protect the painting by copyright.
    At least, if my thesis is not so good for them, the painting will save me!

    Danu: thanks for your interest. The thesis should be published on the net, I will let you know…

    Comment by contessine | January 25, 2008

  21. Je vais attendre impaciemment, contessine! Il y a certains mystères dans Proust que j’espére tu vas clariefier…

    Comment by iondanu | January 26, 2008

  22. Danu: Oh! je ne suis pas du tout certaine de pouvoir clarifier les mystères dont tu parles…Plus j’analyse le texte proustien, plus je prends conscience de la profondeur abyssale de l’oeuvre. A chaque lecture, qui ouvre un nouvel horizon d’étude avec son lot de questionnements, je mesure l’étendue de mon ignorance. Mais après tout, c’est cette part d’incertitude et de mystère qui motive toute recherche.

    Comment by contessine | January 26, 2008


Leave a Reply

