Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Festival of the Sacrifice, Mali Style -2-

“… The blood runs out over the tiled or cemented floor toward the drain…”

Festival of Sacrifice Mali The Blood

I cannot help, I find it beautiful, it looks like a painting!

(Photo of the sheep blood, directly taken from Michael Palin BBC documentary film “Sahara”, during the Festival of the Sacrifice in Mali)

MIKI

December 22, 2007 - Posted by | Art, culture, events, family, Festival of the Sheep, Festivals of the World, life, Muslim Holidays, photography, travel

5 Comments »

  1. I like that you take yourself to the edge of curiosity Mike. So you recall this being a trait you can recall from childhood or is it something you learned along the way in an intellectual environment, say mathematics studies, and now apply it to whatever you are looking at in front of you. So many questions but that is curiosity right?

    Comment by Michael | December 22, 2007

  2. Good morning Michael! Of course curiosity is right, and much more than that: I love curiosity, my own one and the others’ one!
    I don’t remember having been different… I loved and made mathematics before I even studied it, as a little girl, it was just in my nature. So I guess my brain was like that from the very first beginning… and in fact this “cold” analytical brain follows me everywhere, always… my curiosity is partly a result of it, I am automatically analysing everything and trying to understand everything and asking and asking until I get it!!! I don’t do it on purpose, it just happens… it drives Kevin crazy sometimes, he asks:
    “Why do you need to know that?”
    I just need to… my brain doesn’t give peace until I understand… it is not always easy to live with it, not easy for the others, and not easy for me!

    Comment by Miki | December 22, 2007

  3. There is a terrible beauty to this, as in all of nature.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 23, 2007

  4. Miki, having seen the sacrifice many times, I think you are right about this not only looking like a painting, but I am SURE it is a painting! When I click on the picture, I even see the weave of the canvas, or perhaps they are the weave of the up and down and side-to-side brush strokes.

    The other reason I think it is a painting is that it is an “impression” of the sacrifice, but doesn’t look right as a picture would in terms of the details, they are not quite correct. It is an impressionistic painting, not a realistic painting.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | December 23, 2007

  5. It is definitively not a painting, Madame Monet. I took the photo, as I explained, from my TV screen showing The Sahara Film. The “brush strokes” are the oscillations lines of the TV image!!! Kevin was amazed, too, he said he exactly looked like a painting on a canvas!!!
    At the end, yes, one can say it is an impression of the sacrifice, as it is a detail of the sheep blood … many “normal” things in nature, when you look at them with a macro lense, look wonderful and like a painting…

    Comment by Miki | December 23, 2007


Leave a Reply

