Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Viva Café Crem!

All your kind and great comments have convinced me: Café Crem is alive and we all want it to be alive a long long time still!

You have no idea how happy I am about it… To be honest, I was quite scared to write about my hurt feelings publicly, and after the very first reactions I was quite “worried”, and this is an understatement, believe me! Now I think it was right, because it seems to lead to a better concept of Cafe Crem.

I have listened to each of you very carefully, I have listened to myself, I have discussed with Kevin and with some other people here. I have made the synthesis and I came to the following result:

1. I still think that the basic idea of presenting our favourite coffee cups, and telling the stories connected to them, is nice. I will keep it, allowing and even encouraging everybody who wants to go on with this thread to post coffee cups entries. Kevin and me for example, we still have a lot of great coffee cup stories, and we will present them gradually. I hope you agree with me on this point.

2. The main weak points of Cafe Crem were that the theme was too restrictive and that everybody who is not a visual artist or has not the technical possibility to include photos in her/his entries felt intimidated, or excluded. To remedy this, I propose to choose a new theme every 2 weeks (on monday perhaps?) whatever it is.

“…The two week timing sounds just about right for each topic (even for busy people) and leaves people looking forward to the next topic, AND knowing when to check back on the blog for it…*, says Madame Monet.

The theme could be connected to actuality, to a seasonal event, to a special day,  to a general or personal topic too, etc…whatever we like! Everybody, and especially of course the authors of Cafe Crem, is invited to participate to the theme, commenting on the existing entries or making one or more entries about the theme. And as before any visual element like photos, paintings, etc is welcome, but it is very important that nobody feels obliged to put some.

Something which I am not sure about is how we “technically” decide about the next theme. I think we all should propose some, and I choose then, or we choose each in turn. Or the first who declares wanting to make the next theme gets it. Please make proposals if you have some. We will see with time passing by which is the more adequate formula.

For a start, Madame Monet has proposed herself to make the first thematic entry. I won’t tell you what her entry is about, but please keep your mind and brushes sharp, it might start a very interesting discussion!

And, from all of us, a big thanks to Madame Monet!

MIKI

December 20, 2007 - Posted by | Art, culture, events, friends, humor, life, media, news, personal, politics, religion, technology

8 Comments »

  1. This sounds great. Looking forward to it 🙂

    Comment by psychscribe | December 20, 2007

  2. Good morning Psychscribe! I am looking forward to it too! I hope it will be easier for you to participate, when you wish to. And I really believe that we will have good discussions here. Interesting is, for example, that we all come from different countries, or at least many of us. This makes this group quite special too, I think…

    Comment by Miki | December 20, 2007

  3. I agreed with Kevin when he said you should express your feelings. Feelings are all we got that is real.
    Great initiative Miki and thank you for being a light being in this great mystery we call life.
    Kind Regards,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 20, 2007

  4. Great idea, you will not fail.

    Comment by johnnypeepers | December 20, 2007

  5. Perfect. I like the idea of themes and think it will work best if we present them as we go along and Miki “collects” them and makes the official announcement of the theme every two weeks. My preference would be themes related to art and life, art in life, life in art (is that obvious?)

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | December 21, 2007

  6. I agree with you, Susan, to collect the themes, and to announce the chosen theme 2 or 3 days before it starts. I guess I will add a page where I publicly collect the themes, so everybody can follow what is going on there.
    To avoid too many pages I will put the CCCC Scores within the page CC Christmas Competition.
    I think too that we should be more precise with the proposed themes, than “art and life”. But I will note it already in the new page

    Comment by Miki | December 21, 2007

  7. Great idea!

    Perhaps instead of announcing 2 days ahead of the start of the theme, just pick a day: say every Monday, or on the 1st and 15th of the month – whatever – just go ahead and announce the theme.

    That way it’s less confusing than: “was that the announceemnt?” “no that was just the pre-announcement”.

    Once the theme is announced on a given day, people decide if they want to participate in the theme, or not. No pressure. They might be busy with exams, life situations. It’s up to every person to do the theme (or not) and then post the results. Clean, simple and straight forward.

    Of course, Miki; this is only my idea, you mustdecide which way is better! ;))

    Comment by Bonny | December 22, 2007

  8. Hi Bonny, great that you give us your opinion!
    I think you are right with the announcement of the theme. We could really pick the days (1st and 15th), adn I put the new title and the expiry date in the header, how I did for this theme. Then it is clear for everybody. But I will announce it too some days before in an entry so that people can prepare themselves to the theme, if they need to.
    Then everybody can participate, or not, with an entry and comments. But we might have somebody too who proposes to make a kind of “leading” entry, like Madame Monet this time, but we can all make entries too, or just comment.

    Comment by Miki | December 22, 2007


Leave a Reply

