Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Sheep before the Sacrifice…

I don’t know much about the Festival of the Sacrifice, but I am sure, Madame Monet will go on telling us a lot of interesting things about it. But I have the feeling that tomorrow something quite awful will happen with these lovely animals… I was born in the Pyrenees, you know, and we have a lot of lovely sheep there, and when we use them it is for the famous “Laine des Pyrenees”, out of which we make very warm clothes, which the people often need there…

I cannot help, I like sheep, they have such lovely, peaceful eyes. And when I am travelling in a place where there are sheep, you can be sure, l stay a long time with them, making a lot of photos, or paintings.

I thought, in honour of the sheep which will be, I guess, sacrificed soon, I show you today some of the Spanish sheep in the Sierra Segura, in the center of Spain… alive, in a beautiful afternoon light…
Sheep in the Sierra Segura

PS: to be honest, we French Pyreneans, we eat the sheep too…

December 20, 2007 - Posted by | Art, culture, death, events, Festival of the Sheep, humor, Muslim Holidays, religion, travel, writing | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. This is a lovely illustration! Thanks so much for adding it in.

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | December 21, 2007

  2. This is beautiful painting, Miki! It looks like watercolour. I’m taking lessons in watercolour painting just now, and this painting is very inspiring. Maybe one dayI hope to paint as well as you do.

    I love this painting!

    Comment by Bonny | December 21, 2007

  3. Thank you!
    Yes, Bonny, it is water colour, with a little bit of white pastel on the upper part of some sheep to enhance the light and the woolly texture.
    I hope you are enjoying your classes…
    I am curious: you are the first person I meet in WordPress writing water “colour” and not “color”. Were you born in Europa?

    Comment by Miki | December 21, 2007

  4. This is a wonderful water colour. It adds life to the story.

    Comment by Michael | December 21, 2007

  5. Thank you Michael!
    How are you, still sad?

    Comment by Miki | December 21, 2007


Leave a Reply

