Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Udderly irresistable RU

While at the feed store getting food for my chickens I was suddenly seized with an uncharacteristic desire to look at the gift shop. This cup mooed at me and I thought of all of you, and it jumped in a bag and got brought home (yes, I paid for it)

So that night Andy wanted hot chocolate and the four of us stood around in the kitchen while I served up the chocolate and introduced my new cup. THe comments came in rapid fire!

“Wow Mom! THat cup’s begging to be broken.”

“THat horn’s going to poke your eye out!”

My cow was grabbed and tossed around while I stood there with my stomach in my throat.

Determined to enjoy my new purchase I clutched it close to me, took a sip (careful to avoid the horn-in-nose or horn-in-eye) and pondered the wisdom of my choice. Do you think it would be better as a vase on the shelf? Or better yet, a Christmas present for a friend?

udderly.jpg

-Susan

December 5, 2007 - Posted by | Cafe L'Arte, CCCCompetition, Christmas, coffee, friends, fun, humor, life, love, painting, Susan Cornelis' Paintings

8 Comments »

  1. Susan, how lovely! very spooky that you post this today- Bill seems to have been having some cow problems……

    Comment by kevmoore | December 5, 2007

  2. I love the udderly irresistible pun! and I begin to think you susan can do great watercolors practically out of nothing…

    Comment by iondanu | December 5, 2007

  3. Isn’t she incredible with her hen and cow and cups watercolours? I guess she thinks herself it is nothing special, but we know it better, Danu, don’t we? Anyway she is so great with the nudes in watercolour, and this is a very sexy nude of a cow… you surely love it, Danu, with her round forms! I wonder which kind of fesses this one has…
    Is it a milk deposit for the cafe au lait, under the cow, Susan?
    A wonderful entry, thankyou so much!

    Comment by Miki | December 5, 2007

  4. Now, Susan, before I can answer your question, I need to know if it is really difficult to drink out of that wonderful cup without having the nose pierced and the eyes poked out.
    When it is really the case, then you should better use it as a present for an enemy… but you don’t have any, I guess.
    To misuse the cow as a vase on a shelf is A SIN!I imagine the poor cow standing there for ever, with her tummy full of water and vegetables and it breaks my heart… Don’t do it, Susan!
    Perhaps you should “prendre la vache par les cornes” to drink?

    Comment by Miki | December 5, 2007

  5. Yes Miki, it is difficult to drink out of it, though not lethal. One simply doesn’t want to have to arrange one’s nose every time one takes a sip. I don’t quite understand the sin about the shelf. Wouldn’t the cow feel proud to be shown rather than sitting in the cupboard? What if we put chocolate candy in her?

    Now you’ve made me feel so guilty I’ll have to keep the cup and wear a noseguard!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | December 5, 2007

  6. The cup is adorable! And your watercolor wonderful 🙂 I would probably put chocolates in it. I would tend to hurt myself, I think, trying to drink out of it. But I think it’s too cute to give to someone else.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 6, 2007

  7. Hey Susan, Miki awoke this morning with an extremely irritated eye, which she further irritated by poking about at it, and she suddenly realised this is just the kind of cup to drink your morning coffee out of, because you could poke yourself to relieve the irritation whilst getting caffeine irrigation!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 6, 2007

  8. Keep drinking from this little beauty.
    Shift your nose to the side like a bullfighter.

    Or you could hold it left handed and drink from the other side. This is good for mental developement.

    With your farm skills you could milk those tiny udders for a squirt of cream.

    Lovely painting.

    Comment by wrjones | December 8, 2007


Leave a Reply

