Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Christmas Season Dessert Coffee

whole-milk.jpgnescafe-classic.jpgvanilla-beans-and-flower.jpg

If you’re looking for something extra-special to wow your Christmas season or dinner party guests, then try this.

Heat one cup of whole milk to boiling. Let it sit for a moment, and skim off the froth (unless you like that). Add a rounded teaspoon of Nescafé Classic.

cinnamon.jpgnutmeg.jpgcardomom.jpg

Add a shake each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cardamom (my favorite of the three). Add sugar to taste. Add a little vanilla and a pinch of salt–yes, that’s right, salt. It tastes incredibly rich.

This version with vanilla DOES require REAL sugar (aspartame products will not taste right). In addition to Christmas season, this is the version I serve to company at dinner parties, and also my favorite variation for Sunday morning coffee.

Madame Monet

December 5, 2007 - Posted by | Christmas, coffee, food, friends, fun | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Madame Monet, how nice to see you here! This sounds scrumptious… I shall have to gather the ingredients and attempt it. I’m a fool for cinnamon flavoured things- I even have some cinnamon flavoured toothpaste that I got from International House of Pancakes (IHOP) in the States. Its probably awful for my teeth, but mmm…tastes great!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 5, 2007

  2. Oh, this sounds yummy! I will have to try it with my holiday houseguests.

    IHOP sells toothpaste!??? I didn’t know that!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 6, 2007

  3. So nice to see you here, Madame Monet! It is a great entry, and as soon as we come back from our travel, in about one week, we will taste your recipe. But we may take Nescafe Gold instead of Nescafe Classic, as it is our favourite!
    Thanks again for your entry, I know you are very busy and I appreciate very much that you take time for Cafe Crem.
    I put 1 point for you in the Christmas Competition, I hope you agree.

    Comment by Miki | December 6, 2007

  4. Madame Monet this is very very nice and it is the way I see Christmas festivities!!!!

    Comment by Michael | December 6, 2007

  5. This recipe will be a big hit at my house. Yum!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | December 8, 2007

  6. About the salt: I don’t know why (and my mother couldn’t explain that one to me…) but in her coffee ritual, at the end she’s adding a small quantity of cold water and a pinch o salt… Seems to make the coffee – slowly boiling – better…

    Comment by iondanu | December 8, 2007

  7. Seems my grandmother did the salt thing too. And I heard of a great cowboy recipe where they boil water and the grains and egg shells to make a rich strong coffee out on the range.

    Comment by Michael | December 12, 2007


Leave a Reply

